Never Surrender

I wouldn’t like to be defined by what I cannot do; although, it won’t trouble me greatly to be defined by what I will not do, the activities I have rejected.

I won’t beg. At least I won’t beg for anything on my own account. I could be persuaded to beg for mercy for another. I can’t think of an abundance of people who would qualify as anothers.

I won’t have cosmetic surgery. Even if a gun was held to my head, even if I were shot. I’d rather just lie there and die.

I won’t get married a 3rd time. There is nothing romantic in imagining growing old together, with someone new, when you’re almost there. I’m not young. I don’t have a burning desire to be a nurse.

I won’t take a tour. I will be the one telling people where to go.

I won’t attend funerals for people I don’t like. I don’t care what people will think. People who are capable of thinking will realize I’m not a hypocrite.

I won’t wear clothes designed for youth. I look silly enough when I’m age appropriate. I don’t need to look silly AND tacky.

I won’t wear anything that is not comfortable. Being covered is as far as I take public service. Aestheticism is not my job.

I won’t eat food I don’t enjoy. Possibly this will apply even under famine conditions.

I won’t read books that are not captivating. I won’t hesitate to stop halfway through. A book is not a commitment; it is entertainment.

I will not surrender; to anyone, especially not the aliens.

If I am to be remembered for what I refused to do then an obituary would look something like this-

Elroy Jones refused to beg for cosmetic surgery after she was shot in the face for denying the attentions of an aspiring third husband who asked her to take a tour to attend Dick Cheney’s funeral. In her later years she wouldn’t wear youthful attire, demanding comfort over beauty. She was renowned for starving nearly to death during a famine when she boycotted the work of Harold Robbins for its vacuous content. She didn’t surrender.

About elroyjones

Married, no children, responsibly self-directed, living happily.
This entry was posted in Autonomy and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Never Surrender

  1. Two things: (1) Your posts are a roller coaster ride. I was crying yesterday and laughing today; and (2) May I have your permission to use your “I won’t read books …” in a weekly quotes feature I have on my writer’s blog (darlawrites.com)? That is so good.

  2. judithatwood says:

    Lovingly wicked! (Wicked is a good thing up here in the boonies of Maine.) You have such a wonderful grasp of what is good to read! Thank you! 8-)

  3. hanslr says:

    Great obit. Don’t use it soon!

  4. gkinnard says:

    I agree with Darla: A person’s head could possibly spin clear off if they the try to follow you too closely or read your posts one after the other (which was my case today). You never fail to surprise the devil out of me with your versatility!

    Earlier—when I read your last post—I felt angst. Now, I’ve just completed a circuit involving falling out of my desk chair and subsequently rolling across the floor and down a step or two into the laundry room and hitting my head on the back door because I was laughing so hard !

    • elroyjones says:

      It was fun to write. I wasn’t sure exactly where it was going, or how I’d wrap it up, but it made me laugh when I read it out loud, so there you have it.

      Maybe we’ll have to get you some casters for that chair!

  5. Today I posted your “I won’t read books … ” on my writer’s blog. Here’s the link: http://www.darlawrites.com/writing-quote-for-the-week/

Leave a Reply

