Small Traditions

Every spring, close to Memorial Day, my husband and I get flowers for all of the pots and window boxes. He tells me the flowers don’t matter to him. It is an untruth. One year he chose most of the flowers. There were several flats of marigolds as well as an abundance of purple petunias. I put them in the window boxes together, the combination reminded me of Mardi Gras. I thought he liked them so I brought the tradition forward. Those baby blues crinkled when I mentioned it to him. He grinned and said, “No, I was tired of looking at flowers and I wanted to get the hell out of there.”

We chose flowers this year too. We visited three places. I said, “You like the flowers” and he replied, “No, I don’t care one way or the other. You like the flowers. If you’re going to get them you may as well get some colorful ones.” I got a profusion of pansies. I love them. There are 3 pots of purple petunias too. I put marigolds in the window boxes. It’s a tradition.

 

About elroyjones

Married, no children, responsibly self-directed, living happily.
This entry was posted in Marriage and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Small Traditions

  1. SandySays1 says:

    Dogfuscious says: Traditions are the hooks we support our lives from.

    • elroyjones says:

      Happily, they are. We also have a very successful ice cream is a meal tradition whereby we eat ice cream for supper when it’s awfully hot in the summer.

  2. I couldn’t comment on the last post… but I loved the pretty pink sunrise.. Why couldn’t I ‘read more’??? Oh, and the flowers are a great tradition… even though I can’t help wishing hubby was just a little more in tune with the colors… but I am sure he is just perfect in every other way… right?

    • elroyjones says:

      We have a good time because we match. I don’t know another person on the planet who likes me as much as he does. There is no one else in the world who believes I know everything or has such complete faith in my abilities. We have angered each other beyond reason. In the early years of our marriage, we argued over the phone and one would hang up then the other would call back so they could have a turn hanging up. We are childish. He makes me want to be a better person, the men preceding him just made me want to get even. He’s not any closer to perfection than I am, but after all this time I am still in love with him. I don’t think it gets better than that.

  3. gkinnard says:

    I love it! I wanna go shopping with you guys!!!

Leave a Reply

