Negative Numbers

I have been smothering in spreadsheets, seemingly, forever. Gawd hates me, and if that is not entirely accurate then surely my husband does because this is all HIS fault. I know, I know- why would I marry someone who hates me? It’s simple; HE TRICKED ME. Now I can’t leave because it has become glaringly, obvious that he would not be able to carry on without me.

As I mentioned to him yesterday, in the most genteel and discreet manner possible at the top of my lungs- “This is not MY dream, this is YOUR vision. You assured me that none of this would be my responsibility. I hate numbers. I just want to be left alone to live a simple, HAPPY life. I am NOT willing to squander what remains of my life on spreadsheets and projections because I DO NOT CARE!”

I am a walker, up to 5 miles daily while I go about my business. The temperatures have been frigid for days. By the time I’ve done enough work to earn a respite from office hell, the thought of sallying forth into the world, donning layers to inhibit hypothermia, defeats me before I’ve begun. Last night, my husband (whose fault this is) said, “You really have to get outside tomorrow.” He is not solicitous of my well-being. Pragmatically, he fears for his own safety.

About elroyjones

Married, no children, responsibly self-directed, living happily.
This entry was posted in Marriage and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Negative Numbers

  1. I get to watch you develop your style. This is nice.

Leave a Reply

