Define Meaning

We thought spring had arrived and with it unlimited happiness. It has been snowing since sometime last night. Most of us are malcontent.

I dreamt of the Fleetwood Mac lyrics from Sentimental Lady while I slept, “Cause meaning falls like splinters from our lives.” We are anguished and agitated. I feel the need to reassure and comfort myself throughout the day. My oldest and dearest friend confirmed my feelings sharing her similar affliction; she feels despair at our collective state. 

While we were emailing, my niece called to tell me her mother had just lost her job. My sister’s entire department will be unemployed in a month or so. My husband and I have struggled to keep the people, who work with us, employed through these thin times. Work has been challenging in way that it never has been before.

This morning he called to let me know that one of the guys, working on the same project as we are, had gotten in accident on his way to the site. He was taken to the hospital but details were not available. My husband just called again to let me know that the 24-year-old man, involved in the accident this morning, did not survive. He died, leaving behind a wife and two small children. I do not know the anguish they will struggle with but I do know that our challenges are inconsequential in comparison. There is no amount of security, no job, no government, nothing at all, that is as meaningful as knowing the people we love are safe and sound.

About elroyjones

Married, no children, responsibly self-directed, living happily.
This entry was posted in Human Condition and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Define Meaning

Leave a Reply

