Imaginary Credit

How are people managing to enjoy themselves in the midst of chaos and uncertainty? How do they keep themselves from worrying? Everything seems to be supported by nothing at all, just air and in many cases polluted air. Even the dollar is backed only by “full faith and credit”; more succinctly, imagination. If the U.S. still subscribed to the gold standard, the gold supply (approximately $320G) is far less that the national debt ($14T+)  and the GDP, which supports “full faith and credit” is barely above the national debt.

Nothing in my limited comprehension of macroeconomics is reassuring. The microeconomics, of my little corner of the universe, is frightening in its reliance on the world’s monetary system, which from all I can detect is PRETEND. If the gold standard were still the foundation of the U.S. monetary system I wouldn’t feel any less apprehensive. Gold has no useful value to me. I’d feel a little bit better with a barter system based on the exchange of utilitarian items, agricultural resources, and necessary services.

It isn’t possible to relax and enjoy, blithely trusting in others. I don’t believe we have the discipline required to save us. The thing that worries me the most is I won’t be able to help anyone, that we’ll all be hungry and cold and dirty with no way to escape it. I was about eight when my younger siblings broke my sister’s bed jumping up and down on it so the box spring fell off the slats and onto the floor. I took the frame apart and put the whole thing together and made the bed before Mum could find out. I have been solving problems for the people I love ever since. I’ve always believed any crisis could be contained by intellect and sacrifice. We have lost the ability to think critically and, in so doing, expect others to sacrifice.

About elroyjones

Married, no children, responsibly self-directed, living happily.
This entry was posted in Politics and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Imaginary Credit

  1. Mike Wilson says:

    It is a pretty scary situation we all find ourselves in. I am pretty sure most or all of our politicians are not really interested in solving the problem–only in enhancing their personal power or that of their paying supporters. Which means we will continue in uncertainty. I have to live by that serenity prayer . . . the courage to change what I can, the serenity to accept what I can’t, and the wisdom to know the difference. Thanks for visiting my blog!

    Mike

Leave a Reply

