Lemon Cake with Blackberry Buttercream Frosting

For only the second time, in my whole life, I was sad to see my oldest and dearest friend leave. The first time was when we were 14. I stood on the sidewalk in front of her old house while her mother drove her and her sister up over the hill and out of town to a different life somewhere else. I can still see her long, skinny arm waving out the window.

Yesterday, we went out for lunch. We talked and we laughed, exploded in  LOUD laughter, at the same time. Hands flying everywhere, through all the stories and points of view. We dissected current events and re-examined shared history. I talked while I was chewing– bad, very bad, manners. We agreed that since we’re making the rules we can bend them a little, to allow for our own shortcomings, but for all others there will be STRICT ADHERENCE. We had lemon cake with blackberry, buttercream, frosting for dessert.

We hugged and she got in her car and drove down Hippy Hill, laughing and yelling out the window, “Love you!” I laughed and yelled back. Watching her leave, my heart felt like that cake tasted, sweet with a hint of tart.

About elroyjones

Married, no children, responsibly self-directed, living happily.
This entry was posted in Friends & Family and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Lemon Cake with Blackberry Buttercream Frosting

  1. Peggy says:

    Am printing this off and putting it right in my journal. It is one of the best things anyone ever wrote or said to me. I LOVE YOU!!!!!

Leave a Reply

