Fair Fight

I will acknowledge that I am ridiculously lucky in my marriage, still in love after all these years.

We have had some passionate disagreements. Eventually, I learned to take an objective view of situations and analyze their importance to me. I’m not a particularly competitive person so I don’t feel as though I’ve lost when I surrender my position. I’m not a saint either. I stockpile the times I have given in for resurrection at a later date i.e., there is a fair I will be attending with my husband this fall. He will go happily, through the MIRACLE OF OBLIGATION. If I cashed in all of my chips we’d be going to fairs, museums and symphonies, having lengthy conversations with total strangers in quaint little coffee shops and eateries, non-stop until the day we die.

I have a friend, who is struggling through a troubling time in her marriage. She wants things to be the way they once were. We can’t go back, we can only trundle forward. I hope she can hang tough until they get through this bumpy stretch. We fight for all that we’re afraid to lose and sometimes we surrender so we can go to the fair.

About elroyjones

Married, no children, responsibly self-directed, living happily.
This entry was posted in Marriage and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

