You Who?

Solitary is not sad. I need to be alone, in my own good company, to do as I please at my pace, every so often. It has always been so. It can be a source of conflict in romantic relationships. It is my experience that people (men especially, but family and friends are included) are insulted when I prefer my own company, when I’d rather be alone. It isn’t necessary for anyone to confirm my existence; I know I’m here and that’s enough for me.

I am reasonably relaxed and very low maintenance.  I learned to be self-reliant, from necessity, at an early age. I don’t want to accommodate anyone else’s agenda. I’ll eat when I’m hungry. I’m not interested in conversation and I am NOT  going to hurry-up and rush anywhere. Whatever I’m doing will take the time that it takes. It is not selfish to go somewhere else to meet up with myself for a couple days before I forget who I am or where I went.

About elroyjones

Married, no children, responsibly self-directed, living happily.
This entry was posted in Autonomy and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to You Who?

  1. Peggy says:

    Love the clip. Thank god for YouTube so that we can go back and see what we prefer to see not what we have to see.

Leave a Reply

