Discovering Alfredo

I made Alfredo sauce the other night. It tasted pretty good. Despite our sturdy cookware and delightful garlic press, it didn’t taste nearly as wonderful as it used to when I first started making it. Back in the dark ages, when I didn’t know what a garlic press was, much less own one, I minced garlic by hand with a little paring knife, probably the only sharp knife I had.

I fell head over heels in love with Alfredo sauce at a little restaurant called Vera Cruz. It was either in Gulfport or Biloxi, I can’t recall which. I’d gone there for a day trip, renting a catamaran at the beach, for sailing in the warm gulf water, followed by a cheap supper of vegetable crepes with Alfredo sauce.

I was always hungry and perpetually broke back then.

About elroyjones

Married, no children, responsibly self-directed, living happily.
This entry was posted in Autonomy and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Discovering Alfredo

  1. webnerbob says:

    Congratulations on the successful alfredo sauce effort. I often wish I had more time to cook. Usually it is a great exercise in creatively making do with what we have in the kitchen and thereby deviating from the recipe on the page. Sometimes the results are great; sometimes less so. I especially enjoy cooking when I am super-hungry. Your own cooking never tastes so good as when you have an enormous appetite!

  2. I’m truly enjoying the design and layout of your website. It’s a very easy on the eyes which makes it much more pleasant for me to come here and visit more often. Did you hire out a developer to create your theme? Fantastic work!

Leave a Reply

