Do Not Disturb

Someone’s grandmother once said, “Don’t tell me any bad news, take care of it yourself.” She was serious and I thought she was very selfish. Now I feel the way she did. I don’t want to hear any more bad news. I’m sick of being disturbed.

I’ve done everything I can possibly do with the time and resources available to me. I have been writing Letters to the Editor since I was 14 years old, been supporting various environmental causes that long too, constantly measure my carbon footprint, and avoid exploiting anyone. I support soup kitchens, individual street people and public libraries; I vote, email and fax. I suppose I could give a kidney but I doubt it would make a difference.

The world is f*&$ed and there is nothing I can do to restore it to its previous virginal state. I don’t care who’s who or what they may do. They’re all a bunch of corrupt, liars who don’t know what I know- we’re all gonna die eventually and no amount of power or money will save us. In the meantime, I’m going to do my best to do no harm and I don’t want to be disturbed.

About elroyjones

Married, no children, responsibly self-directed, living happily.
This entry was posted in Human Condition and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

