River Walk

Caution in relation to the self often escapes me. On the way to the post office my attention was diverted by the river behind the library. I’ve spent a lot of time looking at the river through the library window.

It struck me as a good idea to pick my way through loose rocks and brush to get closer to the river. Once I got there, I spied a nice flat rock emerging from the water. Unadulterated brilliance inspired me to move my carcass from the riverbank to the rock! It was difficult to achieve balance on the rock because it was slippery. There were simultaneous thoughts scurrying through my head- “I am gonna be in so much trouble if I fall in. Geez, I hope I don’t get dirty and nothing gets wet. At least I’m not far from the bank so I won’t have to swim.” All the while my sneakered feet were peddling air like a cartoon character’s.

Once I regained my balance I cautiously made my way back to terra firma. On the way home I stopped to talk to a solitary protester on the bridge who, thankfully, did not indicate that he had seen my misadventure on the river below.

 All in all a pretty good day without embarrassment or injury.

About elroyjones

Married, no children, responsibly self-directed, living happily.
This entry was posted in Autonomy and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

