11.11.11

Along with it being Armistice Day, which marks the end of fighting on the 11th hour of the 11th day of the 11th month 1918, and Veterans’ Day, this year it is also Nigel Tufnel Day.

Christopher Guest played Nigel Tufnel the guitarist in 1984’s “This is Spinal Tap”. I did not see the movie but my oldest and dearest friend sent me a link http://www.npr.org/blogs/allsongs/2011/11/11/142223402/listener-picks-songs-you-turn-up-to-11 this morning with a request for my 11. I couldn’t stay within the confines of the requested 11.

Born to Run, Bruce Springsteen- I got this album for Christmas when I was 14. I first heard the song on an fm radio station from Ann Arbor that only came in on cold, clear, nights in the village I grew up in.

Urgent, Foreigner- The best sax solo EVER.

Miss You, Rolling Stones- “I know some Puerto Rican girls just dyin’ to meet you.” I wished I could be just like Mick Jagger.

Every Little Thing She Does Is Magic, The Police-  I met Andy Summers when The Police played in New Orleans. I worked at Arius Tile in Jackson Square. He came in to buy tiles for his bathroom. I asked him if he was visiting and he said no he was in town with a band, when I asked, “Who?” he answered, “The Police” I could’ve swallowed my tongue. If I hadn’t been such a shy, nerdy person I probably could’ve scored tickets. I was so naive that his AMEX gold card made a lasting impression.

Rebel Yell, Billy Idol- What 20 something didn’t love that song?

Sunday Bloody Sunday, U2- They were cool and aware then and they remain cool and aware.

Mama Don’t, JJ Cale- I think of my poor, indulgent mother every time I hear this song and I just have to CRANK IT UP. She rarely asked us to turn the music down.

Cocaine, Eric Clapton- The world was different in the 80’s.

Passion, Rod Stewart- “New York-Moscow Hong Kong-Tokyo”. This song made me feel like I had to keep moving when I was young, now that I’m not, it makes me glad I did.

Knockin on Heaven’s Door, Gunz n Roses- I like Gunz with my roses, what girl doesn’t?

Smells Like Teen Spirit, Nirvana- The most commercial Nirvana but catchy all the same.

Here I Go Again, White Snake- See “Passion”.

Black Betty, Ram Jam- I wanted to be Black Betty’s Child, the damn thing gone wild.

Right Now, Van Halen- Sammy!

About elroyjones

Married, no children, responsibly self-directed, living happily.
This entry was posted in Autonomy and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 11.11.11

  1. Peggy says:

    Jealous! You met Andy Summers. Boo! Sting is my all-time-favorite hot man. He makes me want to melt. I find the Police the ultimate cool.

Leave a Reply

