40 Years of BS

If things have changed in the past 40 years, they haven’t improved at all. My mother used to tell me, before she died (I’d be receptive to a conversation now but it is an unlikely event), that she was worried about us kids, worried for our futures. She was certain that my grandparents enjoyed the best retirement, and that her retirement was less secure than theirs had been but more secure than ours was going to be. Hunter Thompson wrote about the youth vote almost forty years ago-  “…their apathy will be rooted in personal experience. Four years from now it will be very difficult to convince anybody that there is any possible reason for getting involved in another bullshit election. …that the name or even the Party Affiliation of the next President won’t make any difference at all, except on the surface. The leaves change they say but the roots stay the same.”

I watched “60 Minutes” http://www.cbsnews.com/video/watch/?id=7388130n&tag=contentMain;contentBody last night, only to discover that members of Congress are completely within the law when they participate in what amounts to insider trading on the broken backs of their constituents. I am enraged. Nancy Pelosi was blatantly lying to Steve Kroft. Her behavior is an embarrassment to my gender.

I am frugal. We live a simple life. We work every single day so that we can provide a livable wage to the people who are working with us. We lose sleep when our scheduled projects are thin. We are attempting to stretch our grocery dollars. Fuel costs have increased 15¢ a gallon this weekend. I have retired friends, who worry constantly over their finances and escalating medical costs. My sister was laid off and had to move 1500 miles away to find employment. One of my dearest friends may lose her job as a nurse anesthetist. If she does, she will not be able to contribute financially to her 86 year-old father’s care, she won’t be able to assist with her terminally ill brother’s housing and she sure as hell won’t be able to pay her graduate school loans. It is unlikely that she will be able to find employment here in the Great State of  Maple Syrup and Whoopie Pies.

Politicians are above the law. We are the common subjects of a selfish class of individuals who fancy themselves the elite. The caste system is flourishing in these United States and at least 30% of us are untouchables. To paraphrase Hunter S. Thompson, government is bullshit.

About elroyjones

Married, no children, responsibly self-directed, living happily.
This entry was posted in Politics and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 40 Years of BS

  1. Linda Hansen says:

    Right on!

  2. Peggy says:

    Letters have gone out to Senators Gillibrand, Schumer and Congresswoman Pelosi with a copy of this blog in the letters. My head still feels like it is going to pop and my blood pressure is through the roof. This was definitely the tipping point for me. As my ex-employer pointed out this morning, none of the evening news shows even commented on the 60 Minutes segment, nor, from what I gather, did NPR. I will work my hardest to see that this is not swept under the rug. My letters were threatening but not enough so as to draw surveillance.

Leave a Reply

