News Flash?

Reuters reports that our esteemed Congress of Charlatans is unlikely to investigate what service Newt Gingrich provided to Freddie Mac. Truly? I don’t want Congress wasting any more of my tax dollars on what is readily discernible by the most casual observer- the man is a crook.

Herman Cain has requested and received Secret Service protection. I can’t imagine that there is a serious threat to Mr. Cain, unless there’s a vigilante group out there seeking retribution for crimes of stupidity and unfathomable hubris. The best description of Mr. Cain is from examiner.com, “Herman Cain is a huckster . . . a carnival barker with a wicked smile in a tailored suit and a pimp hat.” Herman Cain says he isn’t a quitter, but . . . – National Political Buzz | Examiner.com http://www.examiner.com/political-buzz-in-national/herman-cain-isn-t-a-quitter-but#ixzz1e6WSUIZx. Quoted on thestatecolumn.com, from an October Wall Street Journal interview pertinent to OWS demonstrations, Mr. Cain declared, “I don’t have facts to back this up, but I happen to believe that these demonstrations are planned and orchestrated to distract from the failed policies of the Obama administration,” http://www.thestatecolumn.com/articles/herman-cain-and-mitt-romney-slam-occupy-wall-street-movement/#ixzz1e6ZIvs1Z  Yeah, maybe Herman is justified in his fear of the anti-stupid vigilantes.

My favorite news quote of the day is from Dr. Jonathan Gruber, Professor of Economics at M.I.T. regarding Mitt Romney’s attempt to slither away from the similarities between RomneyCare and ObamaCare, “The problem is there is no way to say that,” Gruber said. “Because they’re the same fucking bill. He just can’t have his cake and eat it too. Basically, you know, it’s the same bill. He can try to draw distinctions and stuff, but he’s just lying. The only big difference is he didn’t have to pay for his. Because the federal government paid for it. Where at the federal level, we have to pay for it, so we have to raise taxes.”

I sincerely admire smart guys who can drop a strategic F bomb.

Maybe we’ll all sleep a little easier tonight knowing the members of the supercommittee will be working through the weekend. I know I will. I hope they’re walking around like zombies with greasy hair and big black circles under their eyes, nearly in tears because they’re so tired and worried.  I hope they feel like me, and every single person I know, when they stop to consider the state the country is in and the precarious nature of our very existence. Let the bastards suffer.

About elroyjones

Married, no children, responsibly self-directed, living happily.
This entry was posted in Politics and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to News Flash?

  1. hanslr says:

    Elroy: I waited, yesterday, for a post from you and was finally richly rewarded with 3, each one mirroring many of my own thoughts and fears. Thank you, once again.

    • elroyjones says:

      I’m becoming a blogging addict, to the exclusion of all the other venues for my discontent. I talked with a woman today who used to work at a local grocery store but had to leave, when her hours were cut, for employment elsewhere. She told me she works at WalMart because she doesn’t think they’ll go under any time soon. She and her sister help with their elderly parents’ expenses. She must be in her mid-50s. Once her kids are graduated from college she and her sister will combine households so they can better survive. It makes me want to cry or beat the daylights out of someone….

  2. Pingback: Middle Class Strength | elroyjones

Leave a Reply

