A Viewing

“Please promise me that I won’t have to die here, that if I’m terminally ill you’ll take me somewhere else so this isn’t the last place I see before I die.” I said that to my husband after I put in yet another weekend working. I don’t understand why we are working so hard. No, truly, I do not.

There is not much I need so there isn’t a whole lot I want. Money doesn’t mean more than food, shelter, and hygiene to me. It really never has. There have been times when I have desired new stuff- clothes, shoes, furniture but those days are long past. I own practically everything I need. Naturally socks and underwear will need to be replenished at some point; maybe my shoes will wear out before I finally kick it and I’ll need to get some more someday. For everyday survival I’m pretty well provisioned.

Why then must we work so hard? Why can’t we work enough to continue surviving, thinking simple happy thoughts through the years we have left? Quite frankly, I don’t derive any satisfaction at all from the work I do. Not one iota of my identity is derived from the workplace, nary a molecule of the self lingers at my desk after I’ve quit for the day.

If I am struck by terminal illness I’ll be leaving here quite a while before the final curtain falls so I can enjoy the view somewhere else.

About elroyjones

Married, no children, responsibly self-directed, living happily.
This entry was posted in Human Condition and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to A Viewing

  1. Peggy says:

    You said it perfectly. Why, indeed, do we need to work so hard for so very little? I love this post. Thanks!

  2. Quit already. Life should be lived with joy. You’ll never really miss the money. Life settles out and we find we can do with less. You know the saying, “No one on their death bed says, I wish I’d spent more time at the office.”

  3. etomczyk says:

    That is the trick. I’m trying to work my way toward that goal but it is not an easy one. The reason I started writing before I actually retired was to be employed in something I loved living off money I’d earned doing what I didn’t enjoy. Of course, I didn’t count on the downturn in the economy and the almost impossible ability to get published unless you were a “Snooki” or a serial killer. Sigh! But I’ll keep trying. Happy New Year!

    • elroyjones says:

      Happy New Year to you too! I really enjoyed the piece about the bad Christmas gifts and your mother-in-law.

      Have you submitted anything to magazines, the smaller publishers or university presses? It is hard to get published if you don’t have an agent. I’d submit to publishers of authors you like to read too, might help, can’t hurt.

      • etomczyk says:

        Oh yeah and the praise for my writing has been wonderful on all counts (I was shopping my memoir). I was close to being published right before Christmas but it fell through. That particular situation had been set up by a published writer who had hand carried my work to his publisher and it almost came to fruition but no cigar. The great thing that came out of it was that I got to spend a lot of time with the editor and glean some fabulous input which no one will give new writers now adays. So it’s close (I can feel it). I just need to keep deligently chugging along. ET

  4. Judy says:

    Excellent and thought provoking. I can relate!

Leave a Reply

