Oppositional Defiant

Just before Christmas, my husband called me to tell me NOT to go outside, very icy. I looked out the window didn’t see any ice so, of course, I ventured out. I took one step out the door went flying through the air with the greatest of ease and landed flat out. Now, I’m known throughout the free world as one of those older women who falls.

When I finally rallied, mentally swearing a blue streak, I went in the house and called my sister who LAUGHED and asked if I was going to tell my husband. Really, I’m not as stupid as I look.

I did tell him after supper. He was worried and said I could have hit my head and died on the cold, frozen, tundra. Along with many other things, I hadn’t thought of that.

About elroyjones

Married, no children, responsibly self-directed, living happily.
This entry was posted in Marriage and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Oppositional Defiant

  1. Hanslr says:

    You brightened up my day, Elroy!

  2. Every time I read that last sentence, I laugh. Should I be laughing at that? It’s a gem.

    • elroyjones says:

      I’d rather laugh than cry. Often I think, “Wow! I can’t believe I’ve lived this long and I didn’t know THAT.”

      A friend told me yesterday, when I told her this story, that the lesson from my experience is- always hold on to the door handle…I hadn’t thought of that.

  3. timetales says:

    Moment to moment miracles

Leave a Reply

