Birthday Bangle

My first sterling silver bangle came to me as a gift from my oldest and dearest friend. We were teenagers. I loved that silver bangle because it made me feel more like her. I wouldn’t have thought to wear a bangle. Since then, I’ve never been without one. Now, I like to tell people that wrists seem to age pretty well so I’m sticking with bracelets.

Last year I saw a silversmith at the Common Ground Country Fair, I knew exactly what I was after. I’ve been anticipating this momentous occasion for a while. When the  silversmith explained the oxidation process on the sterling and I saw the end result, it spoke to me.

The bracelet is perfectly round, representative of an enduring friendship. Like her, it appears deceptively delicate from one angle; viewed in it’s entirety, strength is undeniable. Oxidation gives the sterling an ageless patina.

Just like her, style has met substance and the result is exceptional.

About elroyjones

Married, no children, responsibly self-directed, living happily.
This entry was posted in Friends & Family and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Birthday Bangle

  1. Peggy says:

    Thank you O&D. I love this bangle and will never take it off. We are the luckiest people to have each other as oldest and dearest friends.

  2. elroyjones says:

    OMG, I almost forgot the most important part, thankfully it fits!

    Yup, we’re lucky and we are very funny!!!

  3. Amy says:

    I love what good friends you two are. I can’t believe the 50 marker has rolled in for Nana Peg! Sorry we can’t be there to celebrate with you but we’ll do something big for your 60th- big gulp!

Leave a Reply

