Feeling Fifty

Just before my mother’s 70th birthday we talked on the phone and I said, “Just think Mum, in 5 years I’ll be 50 and you’ll be 75.” She did not respond and I knew then that she knew she would not be here for either momentous occasion. On her 70th birthday I got “the call”.  My 46th birthday sucked. It didn’t suck from a lack of festivity because I’m not much on my own hoopla. It sucked because the only other person in the world who was profoundly affected by my arrival on the planet wasn’t here.

She thought I was funny. If she were alive today she’d get a big kick out of hearing me tell well wishers that there is going to be a televised ticker tape parade, this morning at 10, celebrating the longevity of THE SELF. She encouraged me in all my delusions.

About elroyjones

Married, no children, responsibly self-directed, living happily.
This entry was posted in Friends & Family and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Feeling Fifty

  1. Peggy says:

    Love, LOVE, LOOOOVEEEE these pictures. Loved Beth. She was COOL. I can see her slouching around the house now, cigarette in hand, shaking her head so that her big bangly earrings swang from side to side. I just LOVED her. She knew we were up to something but she just hoped . . .

    • elroyjones says:

      She loved to get updates about Peggy, happy for you when happiness was in order and outraged by any injustices that came your way.

      We were always up to something.

  2. WordsFallFromMyEyes says:

    I like that – longevity of the SELF. Very thoughtful, that bit.

    This was interesting. I enjoy reading other lives.

  3. Happy Birthday! … and welcome to Club 50. Your mum looks lovely and the photos of the two of you are precious.

  4. ridafatima says:

    lovely photos dear!

  5. gkinnard says:

    Happy Birthday, Young Lady! I hope things went well for you!

    Loved the collage: a beautiful child and a classy mother! I’m sorry she wasn’t able to see you turn 50. It’s hard to age (I mean to use that word in a very gentle fashion) when you’ve lost a major part of your support system. Again, I’m sorry!

    50 . . . if I could only be 50 again—it sounds so young! (I just turned 55.) Keep smiling!

Leave a Reply

