Lottery Losers

Big, sad, sigh. I did not win.

To be more precise, my husband didn’t win. Mind you, I live in a state that identifies marital property as “all property acquired by either spouse after the marriage” so half the jackpot would have been mine by default even though I did not purchase a ticket. I didn’t expect disagreement regarding my share of the haul anyhow.

Last night, we had a brief conversation concerning our plans for the winnings. My husband decided we would have to move. As I packed, I asked if we would stay in New England. We would, he likes 4 seasons. He expressed a wish that we purchase a large tract of land and build 3 houses; one for us and one for each of his sons. I requested a private lot on the water, or the marsh, abutting protected lands (I plead the 5th on NIMBYism). This is the house I had in mind and it would have been built if only we’d won. http://www.knightarchitect.com/LLH/AF/index_pictures.html

It is entirely possible that my husband thinks he desires something a bit more traditional. We could actually have four houses if he likes: mine, his, and the kids’. When I showed him the house we live in now, online, you could have heard him grumbling where you are. Now, he LOVES it here, “Nice and peaceful…the BEST place I’ve ever lived.”

We agreed that we would pay off student loans and mortgages for our extended families. Relatives with consumer debt that they can’t support are on their own for credit card obligations. We’d provide a more secure future for two of my friends. We also agreed that we would do some anonymous good deeds. For instance, we know of someone whose wife is very ill from cancer- medical debt paid, mortgage paid, car loans paid. We would support libraries and homeless shelters. We would not invest in the stock market or in cockamamie business schemes. We would’ve quit the businesses we own. I would’ve donated time to Literacy Volunteers and a mentoring program for underprivileged, adolescent girls. My husband would’ve spent his time fishing and attending college basketball games to infinity.

I’d get some patent leather Birkenstocks 

and some Flax 

I’d go to museums until my eyes wore out from looking at beautiful, interesting art. I’d listen to live music, in small venues, at least once a month. I’d have a season ticket to the symphony too. All of my food would be from the farmer’s market and I’d never eat another bite of mass produced crap. If I could just find the right couch, I’d buy that too.

There are quite a few places I’d like to see- China, Turkey, the Amazon, Sri Lanka, Spain, Portugal,  and Oregon. I’d return to some old haunts- Louisiana, Cape Cod in the late fall, the Florida Keys, Mexico’s Pacific coast, Malaysia, the Canadian Maritimes, and the Appalachian trail in Georgia.

For the price of the ticket, I got my money’s worth in daydreams.

About elroyjones

Married, no children, responsibly self-directed, living happily.
This entry was posted in Human Condition and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Lottery Losers

  1. John says:

    We did not win either. I agree though .. we certainly had a lot of fun daydreaming about all the things we’d do. We had decided that we too would help out some family/friends in need. I think there comes a point in your life when you realize that if you have that much money, the need to share it becomes very important. If I’d won that much money in my 20s, I don’t know that I would have shared very much, and I’d probably be dirt poor now.

    • elroyjones says:

      In our 20s we didn’t have the same concept of money that we do now. All I knew about it back then was I never had enough. I’d surely be broke. I would have treated everyone to everything and I’d be left with a huge pile of stuff that I didn’t really care about.

  2. Love that house. Alice’s Field, lake at your door. And I’m with you on farmer’s market food only. That’s the new luxury. I hope you win the next one, for the sake of all those children you will bless. And don’t forget to visit Santa Barbara on your way up to Oregon. It’s nice here, and we don’t bat an eye when Oprah walks around town. So you and your husband will fit in just fine. In fact, I have an $84 million ocean-front property here for you to consider. I’d take Alice over it, though.

  3. Very responsible allocation of the 600 million. Except that you didn’t create jobs. And the couch is a bit much.

  4. Peggy says:

    Love the house, too. Especially the bathroom! What a great idea with the plants. The whole open floor plan and natural light and wood is fabulous and one should always have a table and chair set on the porch/deck. Baby steps.

Leave a Reply

