Reading Writers

For days I have been trying to remember Russell Baker’s name. I am currently reading a book by Russell Banks, which is very good, so the same initials with similar names initiated a search of the deep recesses of the cranial archives. Trust me, there is a plethora of useless trivia stored in there and the dust is enough to suffocate a person.

Last night as I was lying abed, snuggled in the flannel sheets, reading Rule of the Bone, it came to me; a brilliant recovery of buried memory, RUSSELL BAKER! I reminded myself not to forget. The mind works, or not, of its own accord.

I read Growing Up as a very young adult, possibly as a teenaged adult, and I LOVED every word of it. I followed Mr. Baker’s columns strictly for his admirable writing skill. I follow Calvin Trillin’s work for the same reason. Both writers are wonderfully clever with their intimate knowledge of language. Neither of them chooses to drop gratuitous F bombs in his own work and both are effectively shocking journalists working within the self-imposed strictures of polite discord.

A link to a commencement speech Russell Baker gave in 1995,  http://www.humanity.org/printview.php?page=baker_at_connecticut&sectionName=voices I am dismayed that we have been an angry nation for nearly 20 years and delighted by the sage bits of the speech that are timeless.

A link to a Calvin Trillin piece on his experience writing for The New Yorkerhttp://www.theglobeandmail.com/news/arts/books/calvin-trillin-how-i-got-dirty-words-into-the-new-yorker/article1930191/print/. He describes useful examples of euphemism that tickle my brain.

It feels presumptuous to blog about writing. Really, who am I? A foremost Authority on Nothing, acting simultaneously as Queen of All I Survey, not very important but damn busy, and not a professional writer.

Lately, I have been reposting other writers’ work. It makes me feel good to do it. It doesn’t diminish my stature, as a foremost Authority on Nothing, to be generous in sharing. I know what I like. I like the story. The story is life.

About elroyjones

Married, no children, responsibly self-directed, living happily.
This entry was posted in Autonomy and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Reading Writers

  1. Oh, man, I loved the way you ended that last post! Keep up the great work, my queen! HF

    • elroyjones says:

      Thanks very much indeed. Practicing a queenly projection, indeed at the end of a sentence adds a little something regal. Adopting the royal “we” is next!

Leave a Reply

