Internment for the 4th

The United States Supreme Court, on April 2, 2012, upheld strip searches and bodily cavity searches for those arrested or detained without requiring probable cause or reasonable belief for those searches.

http://www.scotusblog.com/case-files/cases/florence-v-board-of-chosen-freeholders-of-the-county-of-burlington

You know from past rants that I am an individual rights radical. It appears the Supreme Court is doing all it can to promote totalitarianism.

I don’t have anything to hide. I’m not a dangerous menace to society; notice the modifier. I don’t drive. I can’t envision a scenario in which law enforcement would have a reason to detain me.

If I were to be detained and subject to any sort of cavity search, ever, for any reason, I’d release my bladder upon contact. That’s right! You’ve heard of people who can cry on cue?

Seriously. What the hell is happening to this country? Rather than tweeting about unknown news commentators dissing Romney’s wife, where is the outrage over our collective subjugation?

About elroyjones

Married, no children, responsibly self-directed, living happily.
This entry was posted in Politics and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Internment for the 4th

  1. judithatwood says:

    This is enough to make me turn ex-patriot! It’s shameful — and nobody is saying a word, much less marching on Washington. I’m going to use your bladder idea!

  2. gkinnard says:

    Not sure if this applies in Florida. (Just kidding!) You are correct: This is not a good thing. I’m not a cop person at all—ask my wife. I can see me being just mouthy enough that some clown with a uniform would think it necessary to get me naked and go places than no man has ever been before. This would not be pretty!

  3. timetales says:

    When know one will believe their lies any longer they only have one way to go.

  4. Doug says:

    What really troubled me about this decision…the current administration wanted this outcome…

    • elroyjones says:

      Sad to say, but nothing has changed from the Bush era. The twenty-somethings have never known a country of indisputable individual rights. They don’t know what they’ve lost or, more aptly, what my generation allowed to fade away.

      I am fearful for the future, fearful of the servitude I see on the horizon.

  5. The solution to this problem is to get the Justices elected and not appointed, and to put term limits on them just like any other elected official. Right now the Court is weighted 5-4 (Conservative advantage) and wherever you find a Conservative advantage, you find the door creaking open toward totalitarianism in my opinion. (Check out who got Homeland Security infringements on Individual liberties passed if you don’t believe me.)

  6. Pingback: CISPA | elroyjones

Leave a Reply

