Not yet

My husband is fishing. I am working. There is no inequity in this picture. We don’t have the luxury of a set schedule. Opportunity must be seized when it presents itself. I am practically manic with joy on my husband’s behalf. I worry that he doesn’t have enough fun. I do not call him when he is fishing; he calls me with the fishing report. He’s seen two fish, no bites…yet.

Next week I will be Somewhere Else for 3 days and 2 nights. The Red Haired Philosopher will be graduating and I have been given one of the exclusive “reserved” seats. I am excited for her and proud of her achievement. She has been recruited for a position without even applying for it; a new grad nurse, who hasn’t even taken the NCLEX for licensure yet! She declined the offer because she and Coconut are moving away.

As much as I like to go Somewhere Else, I don’t like to go without my husband. Next week, while I am preparing to watch the Red Haired Philosopher graduate, seeing Coconut one last time before she moves away, I’ll be calling my husband to apprise him of the situation, “I’m at the auditorium, no she hasn’t graduated…yet.”

About elroyjones

Married, no children, responsibly self-directed, living happily.
This entry was posted in Friends & Family, Marriage and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Not yet

  1. gkinnard says:

    I loved the photos! Have fun at Somewhere Else!

    • elroyjones says:

      I love Somewhere Else. The Red Haired Philosopher and Coconut will stay with me, I’ll see my siblings and we’ll have a good time. My husband can’t go because graduation is on Thursday night and there is WORK.

  2. Don’t you think you need a Coconut of your own? I mean, look at her. LOOK at her!

    • elroyjones says:

      We deeply offended the Red Haired Philosopher when we suggested that Coconut may possibly be happier here in the hinterlands with us. I don’t know if I am more excited to see my family at graduation or if graduation has become an excuse to see Coconut.

      We hope to get a puppy this summer.

Leave a Reply

