Survival Sale

My sister told me I wouldn’t want to sell my possessions to survive. I’ve read O. Henry. I know what happens when you start selling things off; you end up with a watch fob and no watch, and a hair comb with no hair to put it in. I don’t accumulate stuff just for the sake of having it. I’m not a compulsive shopper like some people.  There’s not much to sell.

I’m not wasteful. Our box spring and mattress is 17 years old. My carcass still feels pretty good when I snuggle under the covers. In the morning, my bones are a little stiff and achy. I wonder if a new box spring and mattress would relieve that.

The descendants are in need of a couch. I am giving ours to them. We’ve had it a while. It only has two seat cushions. I lobbied for a sofa with three, for durability and comfort, but nobody listens to me. Here we are, 5 years later, with a sagging middle. Don’t blame me.

I will make these purchases from my savings. It will make me sick to my stomach to spend the money because we may have to eat cat food someday. If that day comes, I’ll sell the couch.

About elroyjones

Married, no children, responsibly self-directed, living happily.
This entry was posted in Human Condition and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Survival Sale

  1. I have this mindset that everything must be totally unusable before I throw it out. For a nonbullshit example, last night I found a hole in the inner seam of my boxers and I knew there was only one thing to do before throwing them in the trash … Ripping them as much as I could starting from the hole … While wearing them … I kind of ended up w a boxer skirt

  2. hanslr says:

    But haven’t we all said the cat food smells good enough to eat?

  3. John says:

    …just be sure to buy a good couch then, one that will have a good resale value. 🙂

  4. You’d be surprised at how many aged Americans eat cat food. Whenever I see them lingering in the Pet Food aisle pondering their choices, I discreetly drop a $20 bill into their grocery cart.

  5. Much like my blog, reading these in the wrong order can be confusing. I will retreat to make my assault from below… or over there, sort of to the side, because you, unlike me, have a sidebar!

Leave a Reply

