Abstract Epiphanies

I’m subject to recurring epiphanies.

To paraphrase a world famous blogger, money is a distraction. I know money is a distraction, that it is meaningless in the panorama of abstracts- love, harmony, and happiness, all of which are dependent on our perceptions of them.

Abstractions are qualified when someone we love dies and what’s left is a pile of their possessions and the money they’ve managed to save. All of it loses meaning in the absence of the person it once belonged to. I hope to use the resources I have, while I”m still here, to make memories.

Power is also an abstraction. In a former life, back in the land before time began, I had zero responsibility. I was anonymous. In this incarnation, where I have acquired people, I’ve had to step up, roaring, like a mouse, at bureaucracy. I’ve discovered that power is a concept that only has the control, over my life, that I allow it to have.

My husband has children from a distant marriage. The descendants have been in my life for most of theirs. Those testosterone infused offspring would test the patience of the most benevolent person. I will never be mistaken for the most benevolent person. They drive me crazy, over a road filled with potholes. They’re in their twenties now. I have reiterated The Rules of Engagement to them; I will not engage if they are disrespectful to my husband. I’d like to believe that this time The Rules have sunk in.

I have an extensive genetic family. They can be tiring. I’ll do the best I can from a healthy distance. I  am trying to ignore meaningless abstractions. Life is much shorter than it used to be. It’s much easier to be happy.

About elroyjones

Married, no children, responsibly self-directed, living happily.
This entry was posted in Autonomy and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Abstract Epiphanies

  1. I really like this post. I still talk and write sometimes in “meaningless abstractions,” but am more and more living my life outside them. I very much relate to your last paragraph and the last three sentences are right on.

  2. Pink Ninjabi says:

    LOVE this post, and the reminder of benevolence. Good for you for establishing healthy boundaries. Ever the more most important. 😀

    Pink.

  3. webnerbob says:

    I also love this post, EJ! Let the abstractions rule, my friend!

Leave a Reply

