Clam Cluster

Saturday was a cluster. There was a ton of work to be done in a snafu of notable proportion. The day began as something less than fun. Just to let you know, my butt has been attached to this chair since I returned from the graduation outing 10 days ago.

Since Saturday was such a cluster (cluster being the first part of a two part word), I did the best I could to promote peace and harmony throughout the marital corporation. You may recall how I loathe love fried clams. Understanding that my husband had faced an especially challenging day, I suggested that we get fried clams for supper. The universe overheard me.

We had some pre-supper business errands to attend to in the late afternoon. In the course of our errands, I found a new lounge chair! I had to toss the one I had, purchased for $9.99 in 1999, at the end of last summer (that chair cost me 77¢ a year). The new chair cost $18.76, which is not a shocking increase considering the economy and inflation.

We took a long scenic ride beside the ocean. We talked about things not related to business. I told my husband, who doesn’t really grasp the why of it but is happy all the same, that I am eternally grateful that we are us. We have what we need. He told me some things I’ve known for quite a while, things that make my eyes tear right now. We are lucky to know things about each other and to accept all of the things we know.

We arrived at a ramshackle establishment, in need of a fresh coat of paint, with a couple of geriatric picnic tables and a missing exterior light. The young woman who took our order had several tattoos and the softest blue eyes I’ve ever seen.

The clams were FRESH. The bellies were big and soft. The necks were not rubbery. The batter was golden perfection. The milkshakes lasted to the bottom of the cup, there was not a bit of flavorless slush. I ate all of my clams and the clams my husband was too full to fit. The universe smiled.

About elroyjones

Married, no children, responsibly self-directed, living happily.
This entry was posted in Marriage and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Clam Cluster

  1. Pink Ninjabi says:

    LOVE this post! And thanks a lot, I’m craving fried clams. HAHA.. In Japan, they are infamous for oyster omelets. Mmmm…

    Pink.

  2. John says:

    Living in a land-locked state, fresh seafood is not something that is on the menu around here… My mom is from R.I., and, I’ve spent a lot of time in New England over the years, so I always indulge in seafood while there. I do love clams… fried or otherwise.

    • elroyjones says:

      I have been spoiled with fresh seafood over the years. My husband used to be an offshore commercial fisherman. I remember a time when I was bored by fresh fish.

  3. And, like the universe, I’m smiling over here in So Cal. Love your love for each other.

  4. judithatwood says:

    Nothing tastes like fresh fried clams, and nothing tastes like stale ones!! I’m happy for you that you had such an enjoyable night!

  5. gkinnard says:

    This is one of your famous “whole package” posts which I dearly love: Busy/hectic at the start of the post . . . then relax-take-a-breath . . . on to a little romantic philosophizing . . . marvel at/consideration of the color and texture of the environment . . . and good food and drink in the end!

    Lady, you know how to write! (And live!)

    • elroyjones says:

      Thanks so much, George! I am grinning from ear to ear.

      This morning I was marveling in the glory of a repaired screen door, thinking that some women believe nothing says love like jewels. To me, love is a screen door that swings freely.

  6. Peggy says:

    Jealous!!!!

Leave a Reply

