Peanut Butter Picnic

When I was a little girl, any time I had a peanut butter and jelly sandwich in my hand, and I was outside, it was a picnic.

We lived on the water. On warm evenings, my mother made sandwiches, tuna or peanut butter and jelly, and lemonade. We’d have a picnic on the deck, overlooking the water. We didn’t have outdoor furniture. We sat in a row on the edge of the deck with our feet swinging back and forth. We were entertained by the slight change in routine so the usual childhood complaints (“She’s looking at me, make her stop. His sandwich is cut in half; mine has one big side and a little side, I want one that’s in half. The big kids always get a big glass of lemonade, why can’t we have a big glass like they do?”) were left behind at the kitchen table and we were good.

Today, after the chores, I had a peanut butter sandwich and a glass of orange juice outside. It tasted a lot better than it would have in the kitchen.

About elroyjones

Married, no children, responsibly self-directed, living happily.
This entry was posted in Friends & Family and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Peanut Butter Picnic

  1. mandala56 says:

    I used to make my kids bandana lunches. Give them each a sandwich, a pickle, something else, wrap each up in a bandana and send them out in the back yard. They seemed to think it was pretty special. Hadn’t thought about that in a long time.

  2. John says:

    Makes me think of that song “It’s Peanut Butter Jelly Time!” 🙂

  3. judithatwood says:

    What wonderful memories are attached to simple things like a PB&J. Glad you got to enjoy the sandwich, and the memories, and thanks for letting us see!

  4. Doug says:

    I remember those “why is my sandwich cut ….” days. How times have changed. Like yesterdays al fresco lunch was accompanied by hovering Nato helicopters. Nothing says picnic like a “combat air patrol.”

  5. webnerbob says:

    What was your PB and J of choice, EJ? Crunchy peanut butter, or smooth? Grape jelly or (God forbid!) orange marmalade? My favorite combo was crunchy peanut butter and strawberry jam, with the triangle cut on the sandwich.

    • elroyjones says:

      Yes! Sandwiches always on the diagonal or in quartered triangles, even PB&J has aesthetic qualities. Oh dear Gawd, dreaded marmalade, the ugly stepsister of sweet condiments; less than last. I liked strawberry or raspberry jam and crunchy peanut butter. Grape jelly was the next favorite but not as substantial as the red berries.

      These memories make me feel like I am only masquerading as an adult, which is alarmingly close to the truth.

  6. gkinnard says:

    Simple, beautiful, pleasant, relaxing! Great job!

Leave a Reply

