Happy Luck

I don’t have a very big life with a lot of stuff. I haven’t been on a plane or out of the country in a long time. My little life is a happy one.

I laid out in the sun, for the first time this season, last weekend. I put the flannel sheets away, until next fall, on the same day. When I wriggled under the mid-weight sheets that night, I was happy.

At around the same time as our anniversary, we bought a new vacuum cleaner. I hope it’s the last one we have to buy. Every purchase I make is with the assumption that the item will last the rest of my life. Anyhow, it has a very long attachment, which allowed me to rid my home of hidden dust. Tidiness leads to happiness.

I cleaned the window above the kitchen sink and all of the things in it, things given to me by the people I love, some of them among the departed. When I look at those pretty things, from the people I love, while I’m doing dishes, I am happy.

I called my sister and the Red Haired Philosopher at 4:30 this morning. The Red Haired Philosopher took the NCLEX (National Council Licensure Examination) for registered nurses at 2 a.m. They were both happy, which made me happy.

My husband asked me to scratch his back so I hugged him and kissed him first while he couldn’t get away from me. He doesn’t know it but it made him happy to make me happy.

Here I am, the windows are all open and the birds are singing up a storm outside on Hippy Hill. I’ll be working hard in just a minute or two and I’ll be happy to do it because I know how lucky I am.

***9:24A- Just in! The Red Haired Philosopher passed the NCLEX!!! Yippee!

About elroyjones

Married, no children, responsibly self-directed, living happily.
This entry was posted in Friends & Family and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Happy Luck

  1. It’s hard to tell sometimes. Is it the big things that make the little things seem good… or the other way around?

  2. Small life… big heart…
    (I want to live somewhere called hippy hill, dang it)

  3. Peggy says:

    Gratitude.

  4. gkinnard says:

    Simple & happy: you are alright in my book!

  5. John says:

    Want to come vacuum my house?

    It would make me happy. 🙂

    Congrats to your sis!

  6. Reading THIS makes me happy.

Leave a Reply

