Cutler Harbor

I went to Cutler today. I haven’t been there in close to 30 years. It hasn’t changed much. I’m glad. I don’t like things changing when I’m not looking.

The view tugs insistently at my heart. It’s the world I grew up in. Not the same place but not far away. I talked with an older woman there. She knew Mum and my grandparents. When she was newly married, in the 1950s, it was 7 years before she had indoor plumbing.

It’s an isolated world. The population there must be about 1500. The town where I grew up had approximately 2000 souls, in years when there were more births than deaths. If I lived there now it would have to be a reclusive existence. I’m skittish about learning more than I care to know.

About elroyjones

Married, no children, responsibly self-directed, living happily.
This entry was posted in Human Condition and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Cutler Harbor

  1. John says:

    looks like a perfectly peaceful place!

  2. ErikaFlorence says:

    Cutler?!? There is a Cutler near my home town I adore. I’m from Lubec originally. The Cutler near my home is one of my most favorite places on the earth.

  3. You don’t like things changing when you aren’t looking. Does that mean we have to let you watch when we change? Nice pictures.

  4. judithatwood says:

    Elroy, this is a lovely spot. Is it, by any chance, in New England? Sure looks like it is. Beautiful photos!

  5. gkinnard says:

    Very nice! Quite a different world than what I know!

Leave a Reply

