Brass Sass

Lately, I’ve developed what must be termed testicular fortitude. Yes, I’ve grown myself a set. I’ve always wanted a pair and now I have some BIG brass ones.

I struggle with being the decider. I prefer the path of least resistance but I’m not a doormat so don’t mess with me. A man, who made the mistake of telling me he was in the state legislature for two terms, another pig at the trough, called me to request our services. He had the audacity to tell me that he would direct us. Unlikely. He questioned the contract I sent to him without bothering to read it first. He ran his flapper without first engaging his brain.

I spoke in a very even tone, telling him directly that I wouldn’t be sending anyone anywhere near him until I had a signed contract. I went a bit further when I told him that I didn’t need his work. “If you decide you’d like to work with us, sign the contract and call me. Thanks very much for your time. Bye.”

He called my husband today and told him what a good conversation he’d had with me yesterday. Contract executed.

About elroyjones

Married, no children, responsibly self-directed, living happily.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Brass Sass

  1. Bravo! Always does this ole heart good to see a pushy motor-mouth get bested.

  2. timetales says:

    Seems to be a lot of people wanting to direct us these days they have closed down all the mental hospitals so where can we put these people? It is why we need to develope compassion for ourselves and others.

  3. Peggy says:

    You know, he just didn’t know with whom he was dealing. No one ever does until it is too late.

  4. Pink Ninjabi says:

    You go ballsy babe! 😀 HAHA

    Pink.

  5. mandala56 says:

    If he had just gotten back with you personally, it would have been even better! But yeah, being 50, or over it in my case, gives you great perspective about who’s wasting your time.

  6. Ha! The last decider was a man… and his name was Bush… the irony is killing me…

    • elroyjones says:

      I did that on purpose. It’s the only thing he ever said worth quoting, “I am the decider.”

      • I wonder how long it took him to decide to call himself that?

      • elroyjones says:

        It’s nicer than saying, “I am the King”, less open to ridicule than declaring one’s self the emperor. You must admit, it has a certain ring to it. I kinda like it for myself. He probably looked at himself in the mirror one morning and it came to him- “Vice doesn’t make the damn decisions, I do, damn it, I’m the DECIDER.”

Leave a Reply

