Perfecting Perfection

It’s fun to have something on the horizon to look forward to. Elsewise, the ennui of too much muchness is suffocating.

Lately, I have adopted a better attitude regarding unrelenting work. The point of the endeavor is to help my husband, who isn’t exactly living the dream, have a less stressful life, which will maybe last longer than it would if I continued to be resistant. In an effort to create more comfort, in the hours we share after work, before succumbing to exhaustion, I unilaterally decided to replace the old, uncomfortable couch (I won’t mention who chose that couch)

with a new sofa that has three cushions, superior construction, and an unlimited warranty on everything but the upholstery fabric. I paid for it myself. It is a gift of comfort because, as we all know, it is unlikely that I will spend any time on it.

Another benefit of the new sofa is the resultant harmony from pawning the old one off giving the old one to the descendants for their apartment. I feel good because the couch has been recycled and the “boys” are happy.

Yesterday, with work piled up to my ears, I daydreamed about the advent of the sofa, thinking my life would be made easier with its arrival. It’s a continuing daily thought sequence- incorporating guests, holidays, haircuts, dental visits, even making the bed. I habitually imagine an upcoming event will add the magic of perfection to my life.

Objectivity struck. Eureka! I’m living a happy little life. It’s perfect for me.

About elroyjones

Married, no children, responsibly self-directed, living happily.
This entry was posted in Autonomy and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Perfecting Perfection

  1. Like many times, you’ve made me think.

  2. elroyjones says:

    And you’re thinking how much you like the new sofa!

  3. Did you steal that couch from Ed Hotspur, because he has a pink one now…

  4. John says:

    Any post that uses the word ennui in the first paragraph is my kind of post! 🙂

    Nice new sofa… enjoy it!

  5. Oooo … that green looks gorgeous. Nice upgrade! I hope you get to enjoy it just a tiny bit. Yes, everything seems pretty cozy for you and your beloved up on Hippy Hill. Happy for you!

  6. At last you got that new sofa. And a handsome one it is. Who was strapped to the ceiling to take the photos?

  7. gkinnard says:

    Lovely sofa! I’m happy for you guys!

Leave a Reply

