Strong Similarities

I try every single day to keep my ego in check. I like to be right but not to the degree that I am willing to allow my passions to steamroll logic. Yesterday, I had a little lapse. I visited a blog, that I read regularly, and I commented on a comment. I stuck my nose in where it didn’t belong. I was sarcastic.

My political views list decidedly to the left. I endorse most social programs but am a vehement opponent to funding those that have failed. I don’t mind paying my fair share in taxes as long as everyone pays a fair share. I believe in the greater good, “the needs of the many outweigh the needs of the few or the one” (Star Trek paraphrases Aristotle).   I believe that strong individuals should contribute to a strong society.

It’s not my purpose to sway people to my side with clever, convincing, arguments. Debating my beliefs is a waste of precious time. My goal is to learn, to take the information I find and process it accordingly. To that end, I explore divergent positions. When those positions expose a rational conclusion, presented in a logical manner, I am likely to accept it.

The voting public is trapped in another election cycle. It is tiresome. Rather than finding solutions to the problems that plague us, politicians are pointing fingers at each other assessing blame. I was disappointed in 2009 when Obama said “…I don’t believe anybody is above the law. On the other hand, I also have a belief that we need to look forward as opposed to looking backwards.” I knew then that W. and his gang would not be prosecuted for anything. Finis.

Obama was right. We don’t have the energy to waste nattering on about who has done what to whom, looking to levy punishments to assuage our desire for revenge. We have epic problems in this country. Accusatory comments and sarcastic retorts will do nothing to produce solutions to those problems. We have to find common ground, on a personal level, in order to solve our problems. Perpetuating division does nothing to advance the greater good. Each of us has a responsibility to find the way to unity. We have enough strength in our similarities to restore our shared nation.

About elroyjones

Married, no children, responsibly self-directed, living happily.
This entry was posted in Politics and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Strong Similarities

  1. Peggy says:

    Very well said. I will make one observation: when Gerald Ford pardoned Nixon’s bad behavior, he lost any chance at election. Apparently, the majority wanted Nixon to pay but Ford took the high road. Sometimes people just want to see them pay.

  2. You were sarcastic?! The chump no doubt deserves it. He/she probably abuses (eats) children.

  3. I love “list decidedly to the left.” Right up there with “the ennui of too much muchness.”

  4. gkinnard says:

    Well said, my friend!

Leave a Reply

