Cherished Friends

So…Friday pretty much sucked. Then I went to the post office. I have one enduring friend from the wild, wooly place that was my adolescence and she sent me a very cool book of haiku. She lives in Ithaca and works at Cornell where she is also doing graduate work. Nine square miles surrounded by reality, that’s how they describe it. I love that she is there. I don’t envy her (no ocean) but it makes me happy for her that she is where she feels she belongs. She gets old chairs reupholstered. She has more than one dog. Don’t ask how many more than one. I can’t keep up.  The doggy door is revolving. She does that rescue thing.

I can’t remember what happened over the weekend. I know it involved work, on both days, and fried clams with a brief reconnoiter at the seaside. I kept looking forward to reading that book, “Two Old Dogs Going for a Walk”. It’s small, with thick creamy pages, a tactile pleasure. The best part is the inscription- “Dearest Elroy, I cherish you with all my heart.” I love that.

About elroyjones

Married, no children, responsibly self-directed, living happily.
This entry was posted in Friends & Family and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Cherished Friends

  1. judithatwood says:

    A loving tribute to your friend, and your friendship. I envy that! A very heartfelt post.

  2. John says:

    Lovely inscription…. hopefully you finally got a chance to read your book!

  3. And the most pensive post award goes to…

  4. sacha1nch1 says:

    one can be enough; especially if they send you books!!

Leave a Reply

