Happily Married

My husband turned 52. I got him Godsmack’s cd, the one with all the remakes including Joe Walsh’s Rocky Mountain Way. It came in the mail today. No, I am NOT an iTune person, don’t judge. We still have a stereo. My husband put that cd in and cranked it just a little bit, it was LOUD. We had stupid grins on our faces while we blasted our ear drums out. We’re not dead yet.

I wish we worked less and had more fun, that we spent less time worried and more time laughing.

About elroyjones

Married, no children, responsibly self-directed, living happily.
This entry was posted in Marriage and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Happily Married

  1. judithatwood says:

    Such a sweet tale! Thanks so much for sharing it!

  2. “I wish we worked less and had more fun, that we spent less time worried and more time laughing.”
    It can be done. Still working on it, but for me, the trick is/was to simplify – get rid of any thing/activity that takes you in the wrong direction. it’s your choice.

    • elroyjones says:

      I understand what you’re saying. We live simply but we are self-employed so we are chronically aware of the responsibilities we have to the people who count on us for a paycheck as well as those people who rely on us to deliver quality work at a reasonable cost.

  3. No words of wisdom here. Turn it up and enjoy.

  4. Doug says:

    Loud is good, laughing is good. Music for one’s birthday is good. While we download a lot of music we still purchase CD’s. And yes we have a hardcopy storage problem. Happy Birthday to your dude and have you ever heard Van Dyke Parks?

    • elroyjones says:

      No on Van Dyke Parks-off to google, thanks!

    • elroyjones says:

      Listened to Heroes and Villains, liked him a lot, thank you. Do you notice a difference in quality in downloaded music?

      • Doug says:

        Yes to difference in quality of music downloads…to my ear a less full bottom end. If I were 20 or so years younger I’d return to vinyl. Another thing about music downloads…you buy five or six albums at a time…so you can forget what you purchased ..happened just this week with the Lumineers “Hey Ho” song.

        Susan hearing it on the radio says we got to get it…I agree and two days later I recalled I had already downloaded it when it first came out based on a review.

        About Van Dyke Parks …his album ” Song Cycle” is one of the strangest and to me great records ever- ever and it’s just been re-issued. Here’s the BBC’s take on it

        http://www.bbc.co.uk/music/reviews/89zb

        Regards,
        Doug

      • elroyjones says:

        Doug, thanks so much! The best thing about blogging is the exchange of information and experiences. I suspected “she” was Susan.

  5. gkinnard says:

    Happy birthday to hubby!!! Glad you had a chance to crank it up together!

  6. He is the same age as me. I hope he is rebelling against it as well as I am.

  7. Music is good. Loud music is good. But who the hell is Godsmack? Didn’t they have any Fats Domino?

    • elroyjones says:

      You are incorrigible. Godsmack is a metal band. I have some Louis Armstrong and Cab Calloway you might like; maybe Preservation Hall Jazz Band’s rendition of St. James Infirmary?

      • Metal bands. Aren’t those the kind that bite the heads off chickens during concerts. And whack people in the front row with oars. Louis and Cab — now you’re talking.

Leave a Reply

