The Gentleman from Georgia

President Carter’s speech, last night, was mindful and wise. I heard every word. I cast my vote for him in 1980, the very first time I voted in a presidential election. I was crestfallen when he did not win.

President Carter has lived a life of decency and dignity. He has given President Obama his blessing, as a man of integrity. He is confident, that once facts and policies are examined and performance reviewed, the American people will trust President Obama and Vice President Biden to lead us into a better future.

About elroyjones

Married, no children, responsibly self-directed, living happily.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to The Gentleman from Georgia

  1. Funny you should mention President Carter. I just now finished reading this little item http://jonrappoport.wordpress.com/2012/09/05/are-the-banksters-wrecking-the-global-economy-really-the-trilateral-commission/
    where, about half-way down, Jon Rappoport quotes an interview which he prefaces with the following: “The interview took place in 1978. It concerned the issue of who exactly, during President Carter’s administration, was formulating US economic and political policy.”
    More here than meets the eye & this is just one clue… Just sayin’…
    Trust ’em? Not me.

    • elroyjones says:

      I am aware of the TC and of David Rockefeller’s position. There are documents that are a part of the public record that illustrate its pervasive nature and the effects on daily life in this country, insidious mechanisms the average person is not aware of.
      Currently we have a binary system and until there is a revolution, which I do not look forward to since I’ve no desire to suffer more than I have to, nothing will change. Making the best of what is offered to me I am supporting Obama. Jimmy Carter seems genuine to me, perhaps he found himself in a place that was far beyond his imaginings and was lucky to get out when he did. I trust myself.

      • Yeah, I get it and admire the ‘positiviness’ of it.
        But here’s the way I feel… Remember when I told you about my (sadistic) dad sometimes, when he felt especially magnanimous, would give us the choice of being beaten ‘now or later, at bedtime’? And remember how I said we had to face the truth of being abused first? Well at one point, before we were big enough to beat him, we could at least say ‘No, you can beat me, but I’ll not play into your game in any way; I’ll not choose.’
        That’s how I feel about this whole election thing – and that’s what I don’t understand. We’re being abused but we are complicit in the abuse. Guess it’s just that we’re still too little to even face it – step #1? Or stuck in between step 1 & step 2.
        Anyway… that’s it. Oh, I sure hope I did not offend you in any way.
        I did like what I saw of Jimmy; liked his down to earth style. Still do actually – like & respect it.

    • elroyjones says:

      What are we supposed to do? Other than complete anarchy, what will change the direction this country has taken? Don’t worry about offending me.
      Google Marc Tucker and Hillary Clinton to read about the plan (from the first Clinton term) for education from the cradle to the grave, an endless supply of workers. The connection with David Rockefeller is interesting too. I’m not much on conspiracy theories because I don’t believe it’s possible to keep secrets on a grand scale.

      • What are we to do? In all honesty I cannot speak for anyone other than myself – and even then I’m not sure. And that is why I am going forward so cautiously.
        I do think – no, I **know** – that the first step is to see it, recognize it for what it is, and **face** it. I can’t stress this enough – **face it** – full, square on. Only when each of use gets through step #1 will be able to see what step #2 entails (for each individual).
        I would highly recommend the books in my reading list – especially Endgame (Vol I should be enough) as Jensen makes (at least for me) such a direct connection between what is going on, what I see, what I feel, and what we must face that it can no longer be ignored; simply cannot.
        Look… I believe in God, and I believe in His Love, and I believe in Love – but I don’t think Love is standing by, letting a bunch of thugs abuse our loved ones. I think real Love is protecting those we love – even if it means giving up our lives, as Jesus did. But not blindly or in unforgiveness (righteous anger? maybe).
        So… first I face the truth – every day. Then (for me) the next step is to withdraw my support (as best I can). Then, as I try to share this ‘view’ with others, I wait to see what step #3 is. I will/do confess, it is not easy and yes, I get scared sometimes too.

        “…keep secrets on a grand scale.” ? — Forgive me but I don’t think you’re seeing even the half of it. I’m still often completely overwhelmed by the scope of what I’m finding out. It’s like that nice neighbor down the street, so very nice – until you find out the absolute cruelty & horrors that have been going on inside the house (beyond even your worst imaginings). My God! Sometimes I am heartbroken. Other times I cry. And sometimes I just have to go take a nap to forget for a bit… like now.
        HTH, M

      • Oh… a quick followup…
        in case you’d rather watch a video than read –
        Human Resources – How the elite use behavioral science to craft our educational and industrial systems.
        trailer:
        http://metanoia-films.org/human-resources/
        And over here you can watch the whole movie on-line for free:
        http://metanoia-films.org/human-resources/

      • elroyjones says:

        I lived in SE Asia for a while as a much younger person. Propaganda was easier to identify from a distance.

    • elroyjones says:

      I don’t see the purpose beneath amassing all of the wealth in the world. The end for all of us is the same, we will die. Money, power and fame do not prevent death.

  2. Ray Colon says:

    I’ve always been a fan of the gentleman from Georgia. He impressed me long ago as a man of honor and dignity, and he was/is a kind and caring spirit. While the legacies of other former Presidents have been recast — glorified as more positive than they were — President Carter’s contributions have been overlooked.

  3. judithatwood says:

    Carter was my first vote for president, too, and he has turned out to be one of the most notable and distinguished elder statesmen in our country.

  4. I always enjoyed crazy Billy, too. And Lillian. It was not my first vote for president. My wife and son got to go to his inauguration. It was not my first vote for president. That was Woodrow Wilson.

    • elroyjones says:

      Yes! Billy Beer! What’s not to like about a president with a brother Billy? Miss Lillian was just precious.

      Soooo, your czarness, why didn’t you attend the inauguration with your family?

      • I think the invitation was to our son who was about ten at the time. He volunteered in Congressman Ned Pattison’s (oft called Ned the Red) office, being a very enthusiastic ten-year-old gofer stamplicker. Ned lost because he admitted to once smoking pot (sort of like Jimmy’s lusting in his heart). (Our son, Morgan –google him — is now the director of Vermont’s Progressive Party.) Anyway, either we couldn’t afford three train tickets or they really don’t like to let me out in public.

      • elroyjones says:

        Your czarness! You have such an interesting family. Excellent names for the boys too!

  5. It is strange that people respect him a lot more now that he isn’t president anymore.

  6. And Woo hoo… Billy beer.

  7. Doug says:

    I don’t want to put a catfish in the punchbowl here, but I felt Pres Carter ran his administration as if he was an accidental POTUS. Which, on it’s face, is ironic considering he defeated an actual accidental POTUS.

    I think this made him timid in his policies, reactionary to push back, and a micro-manager. A damn shame because he was a really good and wise man. All that said, he is the template for becoming a great ex-President.

  8. gkinnard says:

    I’ve nothing but respect for Jimmy Carter. He gives a damn about his country, and his fellow man—always has. His conduct since leaving office has been exemplary. The man is a statesman in the truest sense.

    His speech last night [how old did he say he was?] was delivered in as eloquent a fashion as any politician half his age could ever hope to. It does folks our age good to see him still out there!

Leave a Reply

