Housekeeping

It’s been a long couple of weeks. There are a few things that beg our attention, not the least of which is the cost of the conventions and how that money could have been used more efficiently and effectively elsewhere. Harper Faulkner brought this picayune detail to my attention yesterday. The conventions cost the taxpayers a mind blowing $18.2 million each, which is NOT the total amount spent, on what has morphed into a week long party. Think of all the good that money could do to help the people in this country, through education and infrastructure.

I am a registered Democrat and I have been for all of my voting life. There are times that I suffer from political amnesia and I believe I am a Libertarian-Independent-Green. For this election cycle I am a Democrat; a proud, loud, progressive Democrat!

I voted for President Obama four years ago because I believed in him because he believed in us. I still believe in him. I’m sure he has an incredible ego. The job requires an incredible ego. Barack Obama is a wise man. He doesn’t make comments worthy of a naked emperor; who could ever forget “The Decider”? He offers humble, mindful confessions. He quoted Lincoln last night when he told us, “I have been driven to my knees many times by the overwhelming conviction that I had no place else to go.” I bet there wasn’t a dry eye in the house.

Obama believes in an America where the People help each other and in a government that is the People. I haven’t heard anything like that from Governor RMoney. Rmoney is  pilfered  from an unknown source; it is not my original work and, woe is me, I can’t remember where it came from.

I am disturbed by so much that there isn’t room to list it all here the enormous amounts of $ that go into running for office. It opens the door wide for corruption. I propose the following:

  • Candidates running for office may not have more than $10k in cash and $500k in total assets including immediate family, and parents, per household. I’m including immediate family and parental financial assets. I don’t necessarily count the actual humans as assets. 
  • Candidates running for office who own businesses must include those businesses in their total household assets.
  • Candidates must have worked as an employee for an independent employer, who is not related to them by DNA or marriage.
  • Candidates running for office must make all their income tax returns available immediately.
  • Advertising on cable, network and satellite radio and TV is strictly prohibited.
  • Debates will be aired on PBS only, on Sunday afternoons.

We live on the information superhighway; enormous amounts of cash are superfluous to getting elected.

About elroyjones

Married, no children, responsibly self-directed, living happily.
This entry was posted in Politics and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Housekeeping

  1. Politicians should not be allowed to run for any office. It just messes things up. How did we ever invent politician as a career?

  2. Doug says:

    I note you didn’t say no to Internet advertising. Which is good. Because some people want to suggest that if one blogs positively about a candidate, that should be considered an in-kind contribution. If the GOP finds data suggesting blogs, tweets, and the book of faces, tilted the political playing field hard against them…they’ll start the push back that way.

    Over all…you are on to something.

    • elroyjones says:

      It seems like we’d have a government that is representative of the majority of the people. I support term limits too, Doug. I’ve seen too many politicians gorging at the public trough while they deride their poverty stricken constituents. Poor is not synonymous with stupid.

      • Doug says:

        Poor by no means…. is synonymous with stupid. My eighth grade formal education clued me to that. And yep, a lot of politicians pig it up while putting a lot of folks down. But I can’t support term limits. The political memory of the many americans being akin to the shelf-life of sushi, and as complexed as policy can be..I think politics and governance needs a bright line vault of institutional memory. And I don’t think you can do that with two terms and done.

        Not a go along to get along statism but professional political governance to school the newbies in tradition and methods and decorum and the up and down side risks of running the worlds oldest democratic republic. If you look at what happen during the Gingrich revolution and the Tea Party dumbing down….huge turnover of House personal—one led to a impeachment, the other to a downgrading of our full faith and credit.

    • elroyjones says:

      I agree, there is wisdom that comes with experience but I can’t think of anything other than term limits that will abate greed. Maybe 3 terms? We’ll never get rid of the corporate lobbyists, particularly now that corporations are people.

      There are a lot of bloggers who do not have much formal education. I like to believe that we learned from colorful experiences. Do you read Old Jules?

  3. gkinnard says:

    Great proposals! Loved the “Gov. Rmoney!” You rock!

Leave a Reply

