World News Wednesday Focus: The Journalistic Notion of Objectivity: Missing White Girl Syndrome (Part 1)

Something to think about-

World News Wednesday Focus: The Journalistic Notion of Objectivity: Missing White Girl Syndrome (Part 1).

About elroyjones

Married, no children, responsibly self-directed, living happily.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to World News Wednesday Focus: The Journalistic Notion of Objectivity: Missing White Girl Syndrome (Part 1)

  1. Thank you for the reblog, Elroy. 🙂

    • elroyjones says:

      Your piece is an important one. It made me very uncomfortable and I had to share that discomfort. Thank YOU for the observations.

      • You’re welcome, Elroy. I know, it’s quite uncomfortable to be made aware of these kinds of things in our society. But they exist, and they must be addressed lest they continue unchecked, you know? I think the more we know, the more we can effect change. Thanks for commenting about it! 🙂

  2. Sure, shove me out of complacency. I’ve always known this, lamented it, then gone back to the comfort of my own white world.

    • Not exactly true. We’ve strayed out of our normal comfort zone, particularly in the Caribbean, and have been rewarded for it. Ooh, ooh, I do go on — New Orleans, Chez Helene, where our taxi driver said we shouldn’t go.

      • But I get off message. One white life in this country is equal to eight Latino lives and twelve black lives — and I’m not even dealing with gays.

      • elroyjones says:

        When I lived in SE Asia about 30 years ago I was surprised when one of my Australian friends told me, “Life is cheap here.” It made an impression.

        In the US, I’m not sure the distinction is one of color so much as it is one of class. There are poverty stricken white families who would be completely without resources to recover their abducted daughters. Poverty perpetuates surrender to being less than deserving of assistance and resources.

      • elroyjones says:

        Me too, in my travels but here there is little in the way of ethnic diversity. During the summer we have loads of visitors but in the winter just a few brave scientists and teachers linger.

    • elroyjones says:

      I like to share my discomfort.

    • Haha! I think we all shake our heads, then snuggle back into our comfort zones. But if we are confronted with such awareness consistently, well, eventually we’ll be moved enough to protest.

  3. Peggy says:

    It’s a matter of sensationalism. The media does deal with impoverished whites (blonds and brunettes), too, but only when it’s a gruesome murder. Honestly, I think some of it harkens back to slavery times when whites were convinced that black slaves were just dying to RAVISH white women. It’s that sense that white is pure and black is evil. Lots of symbolism here.

Leave a Reply

