Sugar Substitute

I’m taking a sugar holiday. No treats. Very sad. I love sugar, especially chocolate flavored sugar. Like a patient losing the benefit of a drug’s efficacy, it’s good for me to be off sugar for a month so it will regain it’s potency, in moderate amounts. An added benefit is less treats = less me.

Trekking to Main Street is not as much fun during a sugar holiday. On Saturday, I was starving (our fridge was destitute) so I took myself to lunch. I was seated at a conspicuous window table. I had just ordered when my friend, Larry, strode in and plopped down across from me.

It had been a trying week so I’d been looking forward to time alone. Larry does not have lovely table manners. He spits. He is sometimes conversationally inappropriate. He is sincere and direct. He lives alone in the house he’s lived in all of his life.

I asked him if he’d had lunch yet. No. Would he like some lunch? Was I buying? Yes. The waitress did not return to our table to take his order. He asked me if I would go get her, saying- They don’t like me here. They think I’m a pain in the ass. I found the waitress; she took his order.

We talked about community events. We talked about the weather. Larry was quite pleased to call the weather line so I could listen to the forecast on his cell phone. We talked about his health. He told me he takes a lot of pills every day. I asked him what he took pills for and he listed high blood pressure, cholesterol, and don’t tell anyone this or I’ll have to kill you, an anti-depressant.

Oh Larry, are you depressed? Yup. Every day when I wake up. Why? I’m all alone here. I let it be. Larry has good boundaries and I respect them. We talked about an upcoming barbecue at his friend’s house. He told me he’d grown up with his friend. I asked if they’d gone to school together. No, I was in Special Ed.

The pretty, young waitress came back to our table when she saw our plates were empty. Instead of asking if we’d like dessert, she tried to whisk us out the door. I ordered a piece of chocolate cream pie to take home to my husband. Larry got his pie to go too. He told me some jokes and he quoted the White Rabbit for me, which always breaks me up. We took our pie out the door and he turned to leave. Thanks for lunch, now I have enough money for breakfast tomorrow.

Sugar is not the only treat.

About elroyjones

Married, no children, responsibly self-directed, living happily.
This entry was posted in Autonomy and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Sugar Substitute

  1. One should always let a little Larry into one’s life.

  2. Ray Colon says:

    We all know a Larry or two, and to some, we may be caste as the Larry in their lives. It’s all a matter of degrees, really.

    To an old friend, I’m a cool cat. To a new friend, just saying “cool cat” would signal my banishment to Larry-dom. To my colleagues, I’m a deliberate thinker. At a dinner party, I’m the guy who stands by the bar and doesn’t talk much.

    You wrote lovingly of Larry, which I liked, because it takes all kinds to make the world go.

  3. That was doubly sweet… just like you…

  4. gkinnard says:

    Witty, polite and kind, and equipped with a deep coin purse: you are the whole package!

    • elroyjones says:

      The coin purse is pretty thin but it was worth blowing my budget. It never occurred to me that he was sad to be alone. He told me he’d invite me to his birthday party, being just a year and a half older than me. I have put it on my calendar.

  5. Pink Ninjabi says:

    Awesome! Personally, sugar makes my face break out. Agave nectar is a wonderful substitute I find used by David’s Tea as well, sold in your organic or nonorganic stores. It’s a wonderful substitute in teas, on top of french toast etc… 😀 Yums!

  6. judithatwood says:

    Poignant and insightful — as your posts so often are!

Leave a Reply

