Different Views

I like to go Somewhere Else from time to time. The first time I lived Somewhere Else, I couldn’t wait to get out of there. I hated to think my life had become so limited. I moved away from, and back to, Somewhere Else three times. I’d be happy to go back now but my husband likes it here where it’s “nice and peaceful”. Ironically, I met him Somewhere Else. It was the best time either of us ever had.

I am a roamer. I get out early so I can watch the day begin. I like to look at things in the dark, peace and quiet.

When I was young, I was intimidated by stores and salespeople. If the shop was too fine, I was afraid to go in. I don’t have that problem now. In a few years, it may not be unheard of to see me in my pajamas with my sequined turban and my shopping cart with an ooga-ooga horn trying to gain entry to the most exclusive boutiques.

I love this place. I like the glorious outburst of color.

Seagulls screech. Salty fish and gurry spice the air in this neighborhood.

We’ve had more than one toddy for the body on this street. A bar we used to frequent is beneath the red awning. One time Mum and I were enjoying a libation, when I looked out the window to see a former gentleman friend push his ancient mother’s ancient Volvo just a little bit down the hill then jump in to start it. We laughed because the scene was incongruous but so characteristic of the gentleman in question. The car needed a $5 part and he had the five bucks but could not manage to get his stuff together to go buy it.

Someday, when I buy an old 1950’s style motel, I’m going to plant grass in boxes on the roof, just like this.

I stayed in this hotel for my 40th birthday. It’s a nice enough place but a bit too dark and velvety for my comfort; it’s not far from the nightlife so it’s noisy too. My sister and her daughter had a terrible disagreement about something and ruined their own fun with misplaced drama. I felt sorry for my niece. I had a good time anyway.

I’m glad Somewhere Else is there when I want to visit. It’s “nice and peaceful” in my neighborhood.

About elroyjones

Married, no children, responsibly self-directed, living happily.
This entry was posted in Autonomy and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Different Views

  1. I love this post. I would like to go Somewhere Else and meet Someone. I might even like to stay there when I got there.
    The thought of you shopping turbaned and pj’d makes me smile – but what is an ooga ooga horn ?!? I’ll google.

  2. judithatwood says:

    I have traveled to and lived in Somewhere Else three different times. I loved every one of them, but I loved Colorado Springs and points east the very most. I would live there in a heartbeat, if I thought I could support myself — but I’d better stay home for now. Short Trips to many Somewhere Elses are still in my future. So much world to see!

  3. I love somewhere else. I have been lots of somewhere elses. I love early morning walks… some of my best pics from the last Europe trip were done before the world got crowded. This is an awesome post. Just don’t stay somewhere else, unless you bring your blog with you.

    • elroyjones says:

      I thought you would like this; it’s on the ocean just a short ferry ride away from some of the most gorgeous islands I’ve ever been to. I’ve been a lot of places too but this particular Somewhere Else is the one place I return to. I’ve lived there 3 times and the 3rd time was the charm. It’s not too far away from home so if something happened I could get back quick. My husband and I are Neurotic Qualms in regard to something happening when we’re apart, we worry that we won’t make it back to each other in time.

  4. gkinnard says:

    I’ve never been to a somewhere else, but it sounds like Nirvana! Loved the jammies, turban, and ooga-ooga horn!

  5. Peggy says:

    What a lovely photo journey. It’s good that your Somewhere Else is close enough to escape to and that you have the quiet solitude of Hippy Hill. It’s a nice balance.

  6. Damn, Lady. You are somethin’. 😉

  7. Jammies, turban and ooga ooga horn — don’t forget the oar.

Leave a Reply

