Defining Victory

I began the day at 3:30A with a conversation that made me cry. Throughout the early morning I could barely breathe because I was panic stricken. At one point today, it seemed that voting was not necessary, much less a priority.

As my husband and I made the treacherous descent from Hippy Hill, it occurred to me that my life was once again changing in ways that I had never seriously envisioned.  I did the things I had to. I took notes along the way. We talked. We took care of business. I managed to find 5 minutes to run in to cast my vote for President Obama.

The day ended with another tearful conversation, discussing a plan that we hope never to implement. We turned on the bedroom television and snuggled under the fuzzy flannel sheets. My husband fell asleep. I watched the returns come in.

As President Obama was declared the winner of this election, I was overjoyed by an epiphenomenon. All is not lost. The Affordable Care Act/ObamaCare is in place. We are moving forward to a future allowing HOPE.

About elroyjones

Married, no children, responsibly self-directed, living happily.
This entry was posted in Politics and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Defining Victory

  1. Not sure why I hit like! It’s more in solidarity…just wanted to say I’m sorry you had such a rough day, thinking of you.. annie

  2. I really do feel like a huge load was taken off my nuts… just sayin’…

  3. judithatwood says:

    That’s right, Sister! HOPE!!!

  4. Doug says:

    You guys hang in there.
    Regards,

  5. sacha1nch1 says:

    it wasn’t taxes, it wasn’t welfare, it wasn’t the 47%, it wasn’t bank reform, it wasn’t hope for a nation…it was you…i dreaded the idea of coming to your blog were the result the wrong one….i jest only slightly; i know either result would have enormous effects on you and your livelihood, and i know that the world hasn’t changed, but i also know that it’s defintitely a better place than it could have been; congratulations

    • elroyjones says:

      You have a way with words. It was a struggle but We the People have prevailed. There is still a LOT of work to be done. If you had come to my blog and read the wrong results I would have been either blogging from Canada or preparing to hurl myself off a cliff like a lemming into the sea; I jest only slightly. Thanks so much for commenting.

      • sacha1nch1 says:

        i’m on major catchup on your blog so have skipped a lot, therefore unaware of anyof the stresses you may have been going through!

        i’m glad the people got it right; there was a feeling of……i don’t quite know…..just plain wonderment when bush got in – and then stayed in – which may well have been topped if rmoney had won…..i do say this in complete ignorance of how our prime minsters are viewed globally!!

      • elroyjones says:

        The thing that strikes me most about your country is the people do not take any guff. If they’re not happy they take to the streets. I admire that. I am completely oblivious to Cameron’s effectiveness. I could not understand why Tony Blair allied himself to that idiot, Bush.

      • sacha1nch1 says:

        we’ve nothing on the french with regards to taking to the streets! everyone’s lost faith in politicians at the moment; the expenses scandal was pretty hardcore, but did give us some faith in investigative journalism, but then the leveson inquiry was instigated so we lost that too! the two institutions that are supposed to give a nation pride are just looking like shams at the moment; add to that celebrity tax avoidance/evasion and we’ve really nowhere to turn! satirists don’t know where to start…..

      • elroyjones says:

        Yes, the French perfected the art of taking to the streets. Corruption is has infected the entire world. It’s a side effect of the upper levels of success, or so it seems.

      • sacha1nch1 says:

        or whether it’s those kinds of people; they have a corrupt nature, and just take it with them when they climb the ladder

  6. George says:

    I’m behind here; I hope I haven’t missed anything too, too bad. I’ll hope the best for you guys. . . .

    The election—elections—rocked! Butts were deservingly kicked all over the US. It was a very good night for politics and our country!

    • elroyjones says:

      No George, you haven’t missed anything, we’re just waiting for more information and taking a proactive stance in the meantime.
      Regardless of what anyone says the elections were a mandate. Obama got the popular vote and the electoral vote, extremists were voted out and the People made their will known. I wish they’d get down to business.

Leave a Reply

