Mom’s Perspective

I saw this mom’s link on Harper Faulkner’s blog; I read the piece, you should read it too.

I am disgusted by the relentless 24 hour news cycle and subsequent vulgarity forced upon the grief stricken in this country. The Fourth Estate is profoundly lacking in professionalism and routinely denies its power to promote the public good. The press could be contributing to a national conversation on the glaring deficits in mental health services, for our affected youth, instead of wasting our time with a peepshow of the personal heartbreak in an epic tragedy.

As a society, we own this.

About elroyjones

Married, no children, responsibly self-directed, living happily.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to Mom’s Perspective

  1. This is a hugely complicated issue but IMO it all boils down to the abusive society we live in… until each of us begins to seriously look at *ALL* the issues (face them square on), things are just going to continue to deteriorate.

  2. Neglect of these who are so obviously in need of something may not be the root cause of our societal woes but, at the very least, it points to the problem.

  3. Well-written. You are a voice of reason!

    • elroyjones says:

      I don’t know that I am the voice of reason, Judith, but it seems to me that correcting the source of the problem is more effective than treating the damage caused by it. I can’t begin to comprehend what would cause a person to kill innocent, little kids who are, for all intents and purposes, strangers to the perpetrator. I can’t imagine being the parent of a child who would kill total strangers any more than I can imagine sending a 6 year old to school in the morning and never seeing that child, alive, again. Never is a long time.

  4. Michael Sadowski says:

    “Affected youth?” which ones…the innocent victims or the insane children of this sad, sick society we live in? In both cases, help is needed and underfunded. But…how do you find the insane ones, the loners who never show symptoms until they snap? Fundamental and sweeping changes are urgently needed…which is always our leadership’s cue to drag its feet. Isn’t it?

    • elroyjones says:

      If you read the post attached to the link, you’ll see that children frequently exhibit behaviors indicative of psychiatric disorder. There are very few resources available for parents to seek treatment for kids who are affected by mental illness that manifests in violence. Of course, there will always be parents who are obtuse resulting in kids who are undiagnosed. It is unlikely that fundamental sweeping changes will occur given the privatization of the penal system and the corporate profits garnered from an increasingly fearful taxpayer. Politicians are less interested in the public good than the Fourth Estate.

  5. Thank you for this, EJ. The mental health situation in this country is a complete disgrace. I am a libertarian in many of my beliefs, but I absolutely believe the government–we the people–must take care of the weakest members of our society. If we don’t, then we are beyond reprehensible. HF

    • elroyjones says:

      Actually, thank YOU.
      My husband and I could not believe the way the press insinuated themselves in the tragedy. We talked about the horror of knowing one’s child had committed such a crime but it wasn’t until I saw the link on your blog that I had any idea of the suffering endured by the parents of mentally troubled children.
      The purpose of life is to help those who cannot help themselves because “There but for the grace of god go I.” It could be any one of us and we’d want help.

  6. Love your words… still can’t bring myself to do the link…

  7. I’d heard about this post. Thanks for directing me to it. I work at a K-4 elementary school and it’s been a rough week.

    • elroyjones says:

      Oh Darla, I’m sure it’s been beyond difficult. I hope there is meaningful change in juvenile mental health care and the process in which guns are bought and sold. Otherwise, we will have accepted homicidal violence as an ordinary part of life in this country.

  8. I’m sure there will be changes in those areas. In the meantime, I’m going to spend part of the winter break reviewing our lockdown procedures (we had a drill a week before the shooting) to see if they can be even better. As far as the unrelenting news, I saw something written by Mr. Rogers and sent it out to all the parents at my school: Mr. Rogers Talks About Tragic Events in the News. He gives excellent advice. Here’s the link to share with any parents you know http://fci.org/new-site/par-tragic-events.html

Leave a Reply

