Year End

It is the end of the year. I am working compiling forms and figures for the bureaucrats. It vexes me and colors everything in my world. For instance, my husband, in his infinite wisdom, took the damn shovel with him this morning. Yet, he did not shovel a path to the exterior basement entrance yesterday…while the snow was still soft. If I had that shovel you can imagine how I might use it. I digress.

We are consolidating enterprises, a maneuver that will make my life easier in the future if it doesn’t send me right over the edge today. For the record, I detest money, detest everything that has to do with it, detest how people all over the planet have been brainwashed to believe it has any importance at all. As I recently told a mean spirited goldsmith, “Gold will have no value if there is no food to trade it for, you can’t eat gold you know.” I wouldn’t have smiled sweetly and made that comment if he hadn’t broadcast his penurious position regarding society’s duty to care for those who cannot care for themselves. I digress again.

I am especially offended by the need to monitor money and explain, with mindless regularity, to the bureaucrats, where it came from and where it went. Elsewise the regulators come, accompanied by an army of proctologists, to scramble in the out door looking for evasion in an errant penny or two. For what?! For no reason, busy work. Nonetheless, totals have been balanced, counterbalanced, and cross balanced until I have become quite unbalanced. As I have made clear in more than one communiqué today, I have become a metaphysical existentialist. I do not subscribe to the philosophies of Hegel, Camus, Kant or Kierkegaard. I am a devotee of  WTF metaphysical existentialism aligned with WTF, it doesn’t matter anyhow this is just how we pass the time while we’re awake and closely related to WTF, none of it matters, we’re just killing time between birth and death.

Here I am, I’ve done my part. I don’t know what for because we’re about to take a big belly flop off the fiscal cliff. BFD.

About elroyjones

Married, no children, responsibly self-directed, living happily.
This entry was posted in Politics and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Year End

  1. John says:

    Here’s to less money (in a good sense) for 2013!

    Happy New Year, Elroy Jones. (That actually sounds like the title of a great blues song!)

  2. webnerbob says:

    Happy New Year, EJ! May your eye remain as clear and focused in 2013 as it was in 2012.

  3. Happy New Year EJ! May your year be filled with good health, good fortune, good friends, and much happiness…
    M

  4. Doug says:

    It’s always been more about the-this or that side of the ledger, than about “joyful wisdom.” The summing up, the counting of coin, is the take it to the bank Pre-Reflective Cogito of the bureaucrat’s raison d’etre.

    I’m a WTF anti-Leo Straussian always on the look-out for Plato’s noble lie, often running at full speed to the deadly truths. At least that what I tell all those “little black dress” wearing rookies… during the Season.

    Oh…SNZ has been on me to get you and the shovel guy’s Rural Route to better able post ya’ll something.

    Lean and mean in 2013. Happy New Year.

  5. Pink Ninjabi says:

    Love the rant 😀 It’s honest, refreshing, and real. 😀 Thank you for sharing.. 😀

  6. My wife works in accounting, and has been going nuts for the past few weeks.

    I jumped off the cliff decades ago. 🙂

  7. awwww… buck up, little trooper… Okay, I suck at this…

  8. Happy to see you exiting 2012 on a high note. I look forward to more snowshovel/oar whacking in 2013.

    • elroyjones says:

      So! In the midst of all that was most unsatisfactory in the exit of 2012, I began reading Calypso. I had to force myself not read it all at once as I thought, “Daybell has done it again!” People are ALIVE today because I could take my mean, nasty, self on a brief tropical vacation, thanks to you, a humanitarian czar if ever there was one. Was there ever one?

  9. Michael Sadowski says:

    If your money is such a bother, I’d gladly take some of it off your hands.

    • elroyjones says:

      It is a bother considering the piddling amount that it is. Thank your lucky stars if you don’t own a business with employees, there are reports up the wazoo!

Leave a Reply

