Instrumental Excess

I predict 2cellos, featuring Lang Lang, playing Coldplay’s Clocks will make an iStore junkie out of me. It will be my downfall. I’m not there yet, but I feel the familiar weight of a monkey on my back. I haven’t been tortured by an instrumental craving since Phil Collins’ drum solo on In the Air Tonight and Junior Walker’s sax solo on Urgent. I want to hear that song so I can feel the excess of it. I want to live that song. It’s all about musical yearning and endless possibilities. Possibilities. The torturous, seductive esses in the word possibilities; plural, more than one. If the first doesn’t work, don’t worry. They are endlessssss, those possibilities, that’s what makes them so dangerousssssssss.

About elroyjones

Married, no children, responsibly self-directed, living happily.
This entry was posted in Autonomy and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Instrumental Excess

  1. John says:

    I heard that the other day, and felt all teenagerish, going OMG! and WTF?

    It was pretty darn cool.

  2. I thought Lang Lang was a panda. A panda playing not one but two cellos — there’s posssibilities.

  3. George says:

    ??? . . . I’m feeling a little old here. I’ve ‘heard’ of Cold Play, but not 2cellos. It appears I have some catching up to do . . . it is still the ‘90s, isn’t it?

    • elroyjones says:

      2cellos are Croatian classical musicians, who play rock cover tunes, became YouTube sensations, were discovered by Elton John, who hooked them up w/a producer, making them commercially successful. I found them on Pandora where, alas, they are no more.

Leave a Reply

