Happiness Continues

There are stories that are not mine to tell; stories that must remain untold, lest someone is injured. Happily there are also stories that can be manipulated in such a way as to protect the innocent.

My niece came with the puppy and stayed for a week. The puppy, formerly known as Porkchop newly christened Pisspot, peed on my nearly new couch. I was somewhat less than happy. There was short-lived, seething, drama. My niece was going to pack her car and go away at 6 o’clock in the morning. She cried. I cried. I said, “I’m not mad at you, I’m just mad. You’d be mad too, if I came over and peed on your new couch.” We laughed, hugged, and recovered.

I worked throughout her visit. When I wasn’t working, we were shopping for furnishings for her apartment. I don’t have any children of my own. She is my borrowed baby. We bought pretty things on SALE. Her apartment theme is Liberace on Safari; she grins good naturedly when I describe it thusly, at every opportunity, because I think I am funny. I have been exhausted. I don’t have the energy I used to have and work has been particularly difficult this week. I understand, better, why my mother liked us kids to make reservations at her house so she could prepare for the onslaught. If she were still alive I would call to tell her I understand.

After we stopped purchasing things for my niece’s apartment, we went shopping in my closets and cupboards. I gave her some nice wood blinds, too good to toss, that have been waiting for a new home. I also offloaded the juicer and fondue pot. I was, again, reminded of Mum, which made me miss her. My niece said, “Grammie always had what we needed in a closet somewhere.” I understood precisely why my mother was always happy to root around in the depths of Fibber McGee’s closet, to emerge triumphantly with whatever it was we needed. Now, I know why she gave us the nice things she had.

I have a good friend who has a smart, funny, handsome son. He is the same age as my niece. My friend and I have been hoping they could meet. We hatched a plan involving an egg delivery. My friend has chickens. It was a lame plan but it was the best we could do. Finally, we couldn’t stand it anymore and we fessed up to the kids. She and I are very excited about the prospect of success. We love our respective young people and we know enough about the parties involved that we recognize a good match. I’d like to say more. There is more to say. (Drumming my fingers while I think.) There is more to say but I have to keep my big flapper shut while I wait to see what happens. The suspense is killing me.

My husband is a good person. He is forgiving and generous. I am generous but not nearly as forgiving. After the puppy peed on the couch, he saw how angry I was. Before he left for work that day he advised me to “be nice”. Yesterday when he said goodbye to my niece, before he left for work, he acknowledged his fondness for her, “I’m glad you survived the urination.” As he drove off she looked at me and said, “Nunna. I love Bob. He’s a good egg.” Last night we got an email from the puppy lady, we’ll have our own puppy in the fall. My niece left some pajamas here for me to keep for her when she comes to visit. I was worried she might have outgrown us.

About elroyjones

Married, no children, responsibly self-directed, living happily.
This entry was posted in Friends & Family and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Happiness Continues

  1. misslisted says:

    Awww…your niece is so fortunate. This post makes me happy on different levels.

  2. hebe in dc says:

    This was a lovely piece to read on a Saturday morning. Thank you.

  3. Doug says:

    This is a wonderful saturday morning post, indeed. But enough of that…fess up. Who was the genius who let a puppy within two feet of a nearly new couch? Certainly not someone who could float Liberace on Safari: that’s a vision, fun high kitsch meets packable Panama hat and Serengeti hut.

    So…new puppy in the Fall. Can’t wait to dog ya through those early puppy day. One thing you should keep in mind when puppy shows up. No couch.

    • elroyjones says:

      This is my story and I’m telling it in a way that makes me look good. Never mind who the genius was. Let us remember who instituted the policy that the puppy can roam free, sans kiddie gate, which kept him safely ensconced in the kitchen. Let us not forget the young lady who initiated the whole fiasco by saying, “Nunna there’s a puppy just a little ways from your house; I’m going to pick him up on Saturday so he’ll be here for the whole week, okay?” accompanied by a sweet smile. The blame can be shared. How did you know who the genius was. Is that your drone circling overhead?

  4. Pisspot. 🙂 I love dogs, but am a lousy dog-owner, so I don’t have one.

    Sounds like you had a nice time with your niece. Those memories are priceless, even if you do have to alter the story in the retelling to protect the innocent.

    • elroyjones says:

      My husband will be a lousy dog owner, too permissive but he loves dogs and we’ll have a good time even if I have to be the heavy.

      I would give my niece both kidneys and a chandelier for the bathroom.

  5. John says:

    Best get some covers for the couch, especially if you’re getting your own puppy…

    I totally want a t-shirt that says” “I’m glad I survived the urination!” Or “Urination Survivor” or some such thing…

    It sounds as if you’ve got the Good Aunt thing down pat… maybe you aren’t as forgiving, but, you’ve still got a big heart… don’t let the little, angry things fill it up. Couches can be cleaned and replaced… a loving niece can’t be replaced.

    Hope you get some rest, my dear!

  6. So far, my favorite story about urine and shopping and forgiveness this year!!!

  7. Can’t wait for Part 2 of your niece and the handsome son! Loved this.

  8. Matchmaking and peeing on the couch are about the same degree of misconduct.

  9. George says:

    I’m very happy for the bumper crop of happiness you guys are enjoying – with the exception of the pee test, of course! Glad to hear of the arrival in the fall! Are we to expect invites to a “puppy shower?”

  10. That was a happy story….that is all 🙂

  11. maesprose says:

    Porkchop to Pisspot… that made me laugh. I’d love a puppy but travel too much to have one yet. I also have a couch I’d like to keep dry…. one day. Until then, I can’t wait until yours arrives!

    • elroyjones says:

      I will see Porkchop this weekend. I can hear my niece speaking sternly to him when she’s on the phone with me; it makes a tremendous difference whose belongings he intends to pee on.

Leave a Reply

