Sequestration Yawn

The sequester doesn’t enthrall or fascinate. Quite frankly, it’s all posture and pundit. I don’t care, at all. I am more interested in having my upholstery cleaned than I am in sequestration. I’m not alone. The Telegraph offers a refreshing view of the tepid approach the American elected elite take on practically everything. I’ll start worrying for real when food is rationed and I have to queue up for a beet. Beets are not my favorite.

I am happy to see cuts to defense. Defense has needed cutting for some time now. Less money to defense contractors and maybe pay our enlisted military personnel a living wage, that would be a good start. The Fiscal Times offers a concise explanation of what sequestration will mean to the majority of us. Of course, if defense contractors are a big part of your local economy, well you’re pretty much screwed but if you’ve been living large off the backs of the rest of us you’ve probably had fair warning and salted some of that cash away for a rainy day.

The thing that scares me about sequestration is the cut education will take. Can we afford to lower the bar? Is this a mediocrity conspiracy?

From what I’ve seen, here in the hinterlands, we could use cuts to HUD (Housing and Urban Development) too. They seem to be a bunch of corrupt little piggies gorging themselves at the trough; retreats and training at expensive B&Bs and charming inns, while the poor people they are supposed to serve live in substandard housing. I’m sorry if you’re running a tight ship in your state but here 87% of the inspected units failed to meet federal quality standards. If you’re familiar with federal standards you know they conform to the lowest common denominator. Perhaps jobs cuts would force some of the racketeers to live among their “clients”.

The Department of Health and Human Services could use a complete overhaul. Belt tightening there might force a stimulating rush of blood to the workers’ brains. I’ve read that state employees haven’t had a raise in four years. They’re whining, “We can’t recruit the best unless we offer financial incentive.” State government recruitment, here, operates on a nepotism model. We could use some DDT in the gene pool.

I’m not going to worry about sequestration. I’m going to worry about upholstery cleaning. Let the defense contractors eat cake.

About elroyjones

Married, no children, responsibly self-directed, living happily.
This entry was posted in Politics and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Sequestration Yawn

  1. You only care more about your upholstery because it has dog pee on it… ha!!!!!

  2. Doug says:

    I agree in the main but do worry that sequester will be seen as small bore austerity which may lead to a Euro/IMF like retreat from understanding government often must be the spender of last resort. We are still looking at a half-ass lost generation.

    And one stateside political party would prefer the full monty of let it all hang-out as opposed to dealing with the haves and the haves until maybe next week. Which goes to your concern about enlisted military personnel pay; productivity theft writ large. Top kicks always run the Army. At a third of the pay. Which is the point.

    Anyway, China is on the shrink, Europe is on the brink, and we are all on the wink thinking spending is the problem. It’s not the spending, it’s that that fewer and fewer are getting paid.

    Regards,

    • elroyjones says:

      I have the same concerns that you have. This is just a test run for the future. Gas prices don’t bring outrage; here diesel is $4.50, gas $3.82. We’re used to it. I don’t see a change coming without large scale civil unrest and we don’t have the testicular fortitude for that in this country. I hope I don’t have to stand in line to get a beet.

    • elroyjones says:

      But wait there’s more. I agree wholeheartedly that to make $ we have to spend $. We need to invest in the country, do some basic upgrades and routine maintenance to the grid, highways, water treatment, and the damn landfills. On a minute scale we do the same thing in business we hemorrhage cash for material increases/capital improvements which actually pay off in the long run. It ain’t molecular biology.

  3. As usual, you get right to the heart of the matter. Let them eat upholstery. And DDT in the gene pool — what possibilities.

  4. George says:

    Nope, the sky hasn’t fallen . . . yet. We’ll see what a few months of this crap brings.

    I’ll never understand why Dems gave the tea-pee suicide bombers a present of dynamite (aka, sequestration) and expected them not unwrap it and play with it in the middle of the public square. “Mother Jones” did a good article (disheartening if one is a Dem like me) on the whole mess – and its origins: http://www.motherjones.com/kevin-drum/2013/03/the-sequester-explained.

    HUD . . . well that’s where the money that pays me comes from. Let me tell you a story about where I reside on that totem pole.

    Recently one of the casters broke on my office chair. I rolled around on four of five casters for a couple of weeks before emailing my boss (she’s 180 miles away) for permission to buy a new set; I waited because I knew what she’d say. (We’re talkin’ $19.95 casters, mind you, not a new chair.) My boss – a quality assurance person paid by HUD funds – told me such an expense was not in my budget at the time, so perhaps I could figure out something else to do to make things work. . . .

    The residents on my floor – low income seniors all – felt sorry for me and bought me a new chair. They shouldn’t have done that, but they’ve seen too many times how I’ve had to “figure out something else to do” and they were trying to keep me happy.

    Crap WILL reign down on us as the sequester continues; wear your hardhat whenever possible.

    • elroyjones says:

      George, your story makes me so mad. This is just what I’m talking about. You can’t have a new set of casters, housing standards are not met here, but the administrators have learned how to game the system and live large. I went to our state capitol last year for business and the waste was jarring. Will be reading the link and, likely, ranting more!

      • George says:

        Those of us at the bottom of the HUD money-chain aren’t faring well and haven’t been for some time. Life at the top may be a lot better, I don’t know – never been there.

        If the sequester ends up worming its way through HUD, the less significant, like myself – staff viewed as “additions” to the property and not essential – are likely to get the axe first. We will see.

Leave a Reply

