Water Cooler

I got a notice from the IRS in the mail on Saturday. It’s a formality, another bureaucratic form to be completed, no big deal. Regardless of my casual Monday morning position, I did think about the irksome envelope all weekend. I did my part, in keeping a paper pusher employed, and filled it out, ready for return in today’s mail. After it was done, I rewarded myself with a short union break at the WordPress water cooler. I like it here. I like being here with all of you. I like knowing that you experience many of the same feelings I do and that when things are good, or bad, I can find someone who will make me smile or nod my head in recognition.

Harper Faulkner started a movement this morning. I’m linking some of the blogs I read with the thought that you will enjoy them too. Doug offers very clever poems that make me envious of his writing agility. Mae’s writing resonates; John’s does too. Annie has adventures in photography and spirit. Margaret has interesting things to say about writing. Azhar Ali writes about everything, including elevator etiquette and politics.

I should be working. More work could result in less notices; we’ll never know, will we? I’m spreading the love. If you’re not among the listed bloggers it’s because I really have to go back to work.

About elroyjones

Married, no children, responsibly self-directed, living happily.
This entry was posted in Human Condition and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Water Cooler

  1. I thought that said water color, and you were going to teach us how to paint.

    • elroyjones says:

      You are so funny. I used to paint but I haven’t painted or drawn or colored anything in ages. Sometimes I think we are doing a lot of the same stuff in opposite corners of the country. You are about as far SW as you can be and I am almost as NE as I can be.
      I’ll put the link to your book on another day all by itself.

  2. I think of it as the coffee shop. I’ve become quite proficient at avoiding work and sucking down gallons of the stuff. 🙂

  3. Nice job, EJ. Nice job. I will check each blog you mentioned. All joy in working today. I am having my own struggles with the IRS. They want to take so much more than I want to give. And, unfortunately, they won’t agree to disagree with me. I find they are not very flexible. However, hope springs eternal. HF

  4. maesprose says:

    Thanks for mentioning me… much appreciated. I think I got caught up in travel and Easter preparations… my taxes are done too. All excuses as to why I haven’t been here. Good luck with the IRS. They scare me.

    • elroyjones says:

      They used to scare me. I am self-employed so now I’m used to them and I put my tax dollars to work, calling with questions. The most recent missive was a request for completion of a form. The thing that makes me a little bit crazy is the time it takes to get to the bottom of what it is they want.

  5. John says:

    Thanks for the mention …

    I enjoy your blog because I never know what you’re going to post next … and, I enjoy your wit, your thoughtfulness, and, well, I guess I just enjoy being in your company.

Leave a Reply

