Paying Attention

We really need to pay attention to government function. Each time I watch the evening news, I wonder what it is that government doesn’t want me to know that excessive coverage is being devoted to secondary concerns. Admittedly, our society is unravelling before our eyes.

In the meantime, government has devised more creative ways to expand servility of the masses. H.R. 992 is an attempt to weaken Dodd-Frank by allowing Too Big To Fail to become Colossal Theft.

President Obama has caved once more. He is compromising Social Security, which is incorrectly referred to as an “entitlement program”. Social Security is funded by workers and their employers. It is, by law, “invested in interest-bearing government securities or securities guaranteed by the government.” Truly, we have been naive in endowing the
U. S. government with the powers of fiduciary trust.

The New York Times reports, “While many economists say the new formula is more accurate, opponents say it does not adequately reflect the out-of-pocket health care expenses that burden older Americans. All Social Security beneficiaries would be affected, but Mr. Obama proposes that at age 76 they would get gradual benefit increases to offset the depletion of their private assets or pensions.” To offset the depletion of their private assets or pensions- while personal savings have increased, most Americans do not have enough saved to afford to retire into even basic subsistence conditions. Incidentally, the average life expectancy for males in the U.S. born in 1948 (attaining age 65 this year) is 69.9.

We haven’t been paying attention so we’re getting less than we’ve paid for.

About elroyjones

Married, no children, responsibly self-directed, living happily.
This entry was posted in Politics and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Paying Attention

  1. You are our watchdog. Thanks.

  2. Doug says:

    I agree with you on the policy, but I don’t know if POTUS caved or just threw shit in the game. He has a shot to walk away after what U.S. Rep. Greg Walden, Chair of the NRCC said about Obama ” balancing the budget on the back of seniors.” How Todd Akin is that? Another Republican shows the GOP not serious players. There’s a long political game at foot. And the administration just started a huge fight between GOP party leaders, the base, and the guy running the GOP’s House race mid-terms. That’s the game.

  3. maesprose says:

    I remember when they changed the retirement age from 65 to 67. We were young back then but I remember thinking – we’re so going to regret fighting this. That was the beginning of when I realized our generation was going to get screwed.

  4. Nothin’ up my sleeve. 😉

  5. jatwood4 says:

    As a consumer dependent on Social Security Disability payments, (who also works,) I find this planned reconfiguration ridiculous to the point of insanity. From the Bureau of Labor Statistics, http://www.bls.gov/news.release/pdf/cpi.pdf , Consumer Price Indices for 2012 rose across the board — the energy index rose 2.3%, and the food index 1.6%. All of this supposedly covered by Social Security Cost of Living Adjustment, which for the same year only rose 1.3%. And now they want to make it smaller yet?

    • elroyjones says:

      I am thinking the way to best meet my needs is to shoot myself at retirement!
      I want to know how much interest has been earned on SS over the years and where it went. Retirement age has increased and longevity for those people born in the 30s and 40s doesn’t seem to have increased by an equal amount. Many of us will be dead before we have an opportunity to collect the benefit, many will die before they’ve collected the entire amount they’ve contributed. I question the legitimacy of the Social Security crisis.

      Medicare is a completely different scenario.

      • jatwood4 says:

        Because they are both keeping me alive, I can’t really see much difference. I have 14 different doctors, and I take well over 25 pills a day, along with my insulin and pump. I cannot do without Medicare and Mainecare — and Mainecare is slicing services by the dozens. Discouraging, isn’t it?

      • elroyjones says:

        Yes it is. It isn’t a positive commentary on who we are as people that we seek to deprive those who are suffering. I think we would do well to streamline some of the bureaucratic processes that make healthcare so expensive. Blood pressure rising!

      • jatwood4 says:

        Rrrrr! I need to think about flowers or the beach or something peaceful. I guess I’m going to put on my whale song CD.

  6. paralaxvu says:

    I put this on my FB page. I hope my friends read it!

Leave a Reply

