Exposed Privates

As humiliating as it is to admit it, I will. I’ve been bamboozled not once but twice by the same man. It’s the first time in the History of Elroy that a good looking man has gotten one over on me for a second time. I’m serious. I do not extend carte blanche second chances. You’ll find it under Chapter 1, The Personal Policy of Self-Preservation. There have been times when I’ve tolerated inappropriate behavior, forgiven the unacceptable but never have those passes been offered without caveat. Except this time. I did it this time when I shouldn’t have. I was suckered in by a charismatic smile, charmed by intellect and false humility, fooled by nothing more than a common liar.

I’m talking about, formerly beloved, President Barack Obama. His tales resonated. I identified with his formative history: smart, free-spirited mother, strong grandparents, inhaler extraordinaire, youthful existential angst, idealism, only seven months older than I and black. I was so proud of the United States of America for electing a black man to rule the unruly. We transcended bigotry on our pilgrimage to a more perfect union.

I discounted every word out of Chomsky’s mouth. The internal editor referred to him as “that jealous, old, windbag”. Noam, I’m so sorry. I should have paid better attention. You’re older and wiser than I. I don’t deserve to breathe the same air you breathe. Please let me wash your corny, old, feet.

I should have known better when Obama anointed Geithner. My hackles should have risen when he recycled the Clinton administration. At the very least, I should have criticized  his failure to close GITMO. I was too busy listening to the sweet nothings I wanted to hear, blind to the reality I refused to look at. We are not 100% secure and we never will be. In fact, we’re not more deserving of security than our sisters and brothers all around the planet. We’ve been luckier. Obama is toying with language when he suggests that a loss of privacy is the price we must pay for security. Oh my achin’ ass, fly that shit up somebody else’s flagpole and see if they’ll salute.

I stand before you, naked as the most recent emperor, completely exposed without the right to privacy.

About elroyjones

Married, no children, responsibly self-directed, living happily.
This entry was posted in Politics and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Exposed Privates

  1. Security can get stronger, but it’s extremely difficult to make it weaker.

  2. This was a really good post. It is hard not to feel a little let down. Government just doesn’t work anymore.

  3. I wonder why my charismatic smile, intellect and false humility never work. Or was that false intellect?

  4. epiwah says:

    Sometimes I see his eyes tracking at a press conference and wonder if the CIA is feeding him low dose LSD and he just decided “everything is cool”.

    • elroyjones says:

      If you’ve read Hunter Thompson’s “Fear and Loathing on the Campaign Trail” you know they’re all a bunch of speed freaks during the campaign so LSD isn’t much of a stretch or maybe a little Ativan with his cornflakes… .

Leave a Reply

