Dixie Chicken

They’d turned it back to simmer, showered and had dinner at the marina restaurant; redfish and oysters. Dixie Chicken did them in. He told her he hired her because the lyrics were the first thing that came to mind when she walked into his bar. They were dancing in the aft deck. Pressing against each other, chest to chest, hips to hips. The moon was rising, in the velvety blue darkness, over Lake Ponchartrain.

Emma Lee looked over at TK, asleep with a smile on his face. They’d kissed and hadn’t stopped all through the tornado of white sheets and tan limbs that preceded a deep sleep. It was more than she’d imagined. She looked at him, with a predictable tenderness, as she inched out of bed, careful not to wake him. She dressed quietly, looking one last time over her shoulder before she left the forward cabin. She saw what it would become- bills and laundry, age and aches- like the hotshots who paid homage to him at the bar, she liked the romance of who he used to be. She wasn’t interested in who he was now.

About elroyjones

Married, no children, responsibly self-directed, living happily.
This entry was posted in Autonomy and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Dixie Chicken

  1. jatwood4 says:

    Very insightful writing. Great stuff!

    • elroyjones says:

      I had a professor in college who used to try to nudge me along, “Write what you know.” The problem was I knew nothing and the things I could have written about were too close to break out in the light of day for examination. The things I know now can only be known retrospectively.
      When I was young I thought people (read men) older than me were solid, stable and wise. I had no idea that they were uncertain little kids inside, just like me.
      I appreciate your comments and trust you to tell it like it is. Thanks so much!

      • jatwood4 says:

        Isn’t it strange when that realization comes — nobody is better or worse at any of this — we are all finding our way with dark glasses on.

        I will always tell you just how I feel. I think you know more even than you realize — your characters are absolutely believable, and genuine characters can carry any story.

  2. That last line is a Killer!!!

  3. Good stuff. Really good.

    • elroyjones says:

      Thank you, Tim. I listened to Louisiana Saturday Night about 15 times while I wrote that segment trying to get the feel of it. I loved this little story. I’ve found that when I love the characters and the story the writing is much better.

  4. maesprose says:

    Yes, that last line is killer! I loved this story….. also love your big plans for a boat. Reading you two is a bit like Pinky and the Brain….

  5. She rolled the boat over, right? Another dandy story. Someone damn well should publish it.Do you mail paper manuscripts to potential markets any more? And are there any markets left for fiction.

Leave a Reply

