Leaving and Hiding

I’m trying to get caught up on whatever it is that has gotten away from me so that I might be afforded the opportunity to get away from it in a couple of weeks. Much to my dismay, I have discovered that my humble little blog posts assign the label “previously published” to any fiction I have put here, which may cause an ethical dilemma for people not as defiantly independent as I am. I have taken the stories from view until the rejection notices start pouring in.

In the meantime, I am hiding from people I serve at my day job. I am a voice on the other end of the phone or the fingers on the other end of the email and that’s how it will remain. ย People have asked my husband where I am so they may meet me. The next time he tells someone, I will get divorced. In fact, someone is knocking on the door right now. Not only are they knocking on the door, they are twisting the doorknob and calling through the screen as I type very quietly. Now the phone is ringing because they’re out in the driveway calling me. I can’t believe this is happening. You couldn’t make this stuff up! The divorce is imminent.

About elroyjones

Married, no children, responsibly self-directed, living happily.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Leaving and Hiding

  1. I don’t know whether to laugh or cry…

    • elroyjones says:

      By all means, laugh. I’m being stalked. As soon as I hit the publish button the person drove away only to return and leave a note on the door. I was whispering on the phone with my sister. The deal is I am like the Great and Powerful Oz, people are not supposed to meet me that’s not my function. I assure you I am not that nice that anyone should want to meet me. I am competent, and just slightly irreverent, and I suppose there is a certain amount of empathy that goes along with it, but mostly I am INVISIBLE!

  2. I laughed ๐Ÿ™‚ and wished I could be just as invisible… ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. John says:

    Here’s to getting caught up, to getting away, to hiding, and remaining hidden!

    And, here’s to all the sucky publisher’s who look upon humble little blogs as ‘previously published’ … dumbass rule as far as I’m concerned.

    • elroyjones says:

      Rules are made to be broken but the dumbass ones should be broken without delay!
      I have been hoping to have an opportunity to continue reading your series but it deserves undivided attention. I am hoping that will happen this weekend.

  4. jatwood4 says:

    My sympathies and congratulations — whichever is appropriate. I am just back from a break myself, and I am completely re-energized. ๐Ÿ˜Ž

  5. maesprose says:

    I’m hoping you got away… far away on a vacation. Have a wonderful time!

  6. Loved the “calling you from the driveway.” It happens to me all the time.

Leave a Reply

