Who Am I? And why is this important to me?

Who Am I? And why is this important to me?.

If you have a moment, please take the time to read this. Poor isn’t akin to stupid or lazy. It’s overworked and overwhelmed and, more often than not, unfailingly decent and honest.

About elroyjones

Married, no children, responsibly self-directed, living happily.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Who Am I? And why is this important to me?

  1. I clicked it… I read it… I understood it…

    • elroyjones says:

      Of course you did! As soon as I can get some of this infernal work done I will be back to reading and posting but for now I am in year end hell, which is aligned with holiday demands so I don’t have much more than 2 seconds to myself.

  2. Peggy says:

    She has a lot to be hopeful for. She is educated and it would be of utmost importance if her children learn from that and see how hard her life has been and for them to get good educations so that they can rise above the situation. Good for her for writing this and I hope she was able to have it published locally. Thanks O&D.

    • elroyjones says:

      I like that she notices the joy in the impoverished people she meets in Africa because as we both know there is a whole lot more to life than money, although money is very important when there isn’t enough of it to meet basic necessities.

  3. Raw Discourse says:

    Thank you for your kind comments and for sharing the post.

  4. Raw Discourse says:

    Peggy I am so grateful to have an education and to continue my education. I absolutely love going to school! When my adviser asked me what I wanted to do as far as a career, the first thing I said was, Do I have to pick just one thing? The next thing I said was, I want to do whatever will allow me to continue my education, to always be learning new things, something that will allow me to make a difference, and maybe travel a little. He said.. So you want to teach?

    I am a first year Junior working towards a Masters in New Media Communications and Minor in Psychology. I couldn’t be happier. =) I am particularly interested in the intersection of Information Communication Technology and Education. My Goal is to use new media and technology as a means of educating the masses. I believe education should be free to everyone who is willing to take advantage of it. I see great potential out there and MOOCS are just the beginning.

    My children know how hard I work and they know how important an education is to their future. I have no doubt that they will all get their degrees. My oldest is a Freshman in college now and I have son that is a senior in high school who already has his college plans mapped out.

    I hadn’t even thought of trying to get it published anywhere outside of my blog, but that might be something to consider.

    Thank you

    • Peggy says:

      Good for you! I was in your shoes once with two small daughters and a husband. We didn’t have educations above high school and worked jobs that didn’t keep us afloat. We got foodstamps, AFDC, Medicaid and unemployment when necessary and it was hard. But, when I lost my waitressing job, I went to job training to learn how to become a secretary and life took off for me after that. I got my BA between the ages of 30 and 40 and have all the coursework done for my Master’s in Social Policy.One daughter has her BS in Environmental Studies and one has her BA in Foreign Affairs. Just know that you WILL one day work out of this because you care. It’s all about the education.

      • Raw Discourse says:

        Thank you Peggy. Education is stressed in my home. I wouldn’t allow my son (a senior in highschool) to get a job because I want him to focus on school. I told him that school was priority one for him. I want him to go to college and live a little. I hope that he will get his degree, study abroad, and enjoy life before he decides to settle into a career, get a job and start a family.

        He finally find a job that lets him work on weekends and school holidays and so now he is saving for a car and buys his own clothing, pays for his own haircuts and that sort of thing so it helps me out too.

        He is putting in college applications and thinking about his future. He is interested in acting and has big dreams, but they are tempered with reality, he plans to get a teaching degree so that he can teach theater and art to children. That way he can still do what he loves and earn a living.

  5. Peggy says:

    Good luck to you and your family. I have NO doubt you will all be successful!

    • elroyjones says:

      Hi Teresa,
      It takes one to know one. When we were kids we were grateful for the Department of Agriculture’s surplus food program, which the kids in my family called “free food”. We were lucky to have it. My mother was divorced with 6 small children, she taught school from Sept. to June and packed fish in a cannery in the summer months, just to keep us warm and fed. We were also the grateful beneficiaries of the Medicaid program, which kept us healthy through our childhoods. People who would marginalize their brothers and sisters of lesser means really frost my ass. Thanks for reading this.
      I hope you are having a happy day, the coffee is hot and the chocolate is plentiful!

Leave a Reply

